5 Minute Friday – 12/2/2011

Today I’m linking up with the Gypsymama for 5 minutes of just writing … no editing … no going back!!
Today’s topic is:  TIRED
~GO~
When I saw today’s topic, I actually literally lit up!!  I am THE Queen of Tired.  I think I’ve been tired since sometime in 1985 … Seriously.  How many thousands of times have I replied to “How are you?” with “Tired.”  For me, I am not so sure that I am always that TIRED (as in lacking sleep) as I am just exhausted of energy or pure, old fashioned “gumption” as the Americans call it.  It doesn’t help that I am a chronic insomniac as well. 
Perhaps this is why I live my life around sleep/rest opportunities:  I plan my life around those days/nights when I can actually SLEEP without having to be the sole one responsible for hearing the bumps and noises in the night.  This is why I love my family weekends so much – someone else is on duty.  I think the tiredest I ever was in my life was the year my husband was deployed to Iraq – and I was the primary caretaker responsible for a 2 and 4 year old!!  When I’d go visit my parents during that time, I’d sleep and sleep and sleep … because FINALLY, someone else was “on alert”.
My husband can fall asleep in 3 seconds flat and not much moves him to wake – he has said when he was in the Army and on field exercises there was a time when he could actually catch some sleep, propped upright against a good, solid wall – literally being asleep standing up!!  This is what I contend with – though – when it comes to our kids at night.  I hear every bed creak … and I can anticipate those middle-of-the-night “I don’t feel good” times by just hearing how the tread on the stairs is when the kids come down to tell me what is wrong.  That mommy radar kicks in hard and fast!
I know not all my TIRED issues revolve around sleep depravation … I think often I am TIRED because I am just mentally exhausted – or I just don’t want to deal with something/someone.  It makes me – what I call – TIRED. 
My husband laughs at me – but I can actually think myself tired ahead of time as well!!  Like when we are planning and packing for a trip or weekend at the grandparents’ house, I am already tired and cranky before we even leave the driveway!!   Just the very thought of all those logistics exhaust my mental capacity very fast!! 
Apparently, I need a mental attitude adjustment and some really good vitamins in my life ?!!?  🙂
And now, after writing all this, and after 2 nights of not sleeping well, I think I’m going to take a little nap.

This entry was posted in 5 Minute Friday. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 5 Minute Friday – 12/2/2011

  1. Rochelle says:

    I just love your 5 minute Fridays and I can so relate to today's post about being tired. While I was in school someone said to me if I changed what I put into the atmosphere I would change how I feel. So I began to try to find a way to reframe, I am tired. After several reframes and getting frustrated because my reality of being tired never changed I reverted back to simply, I'm tired and sometimes I am tired of being tired. I can also relate to having a spouse that can fall asleep within 30 seconds of hitting the bed. My prayer is that one day I can do the same. Thanks so much for shareing and I hope you had a great nap.

  2. melanie says:

    I think we could be Co-Queens of the same Kingdom of Tired!…off to find some vitamins on my way to bed… : )oh, pray for me tomorrow night as I sit there with a baby doll in my lap and the choir singing the lullabye! 😮

  3. sleep well dear Connie…I am a night owl and watch classic movies after my hubby goes to bed…William Powell keeps me company until I go to bed at 4 in the am. Like you…I long for lots of sleep. On top of that, I often think I am the laziest purrson in my world…and the most boring too. Not that you are any of the last two….but I feel comfortable with you here:)zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZgute nacht…Karla

Comments are closed.