Hodge Podge – 12/7/2011

HELLO, Joyce & Friends!! 
 Linking up for another Wednesday of Hodge Podge Questions & Answers:
1. Will you be hosting any house guests between now and the end of December? Does that thought make you happy or crazy? Do you do anything special for your guests to make them feel at home? How long should a house guest stay?
I don’t know yet … my parents – who have recently discovered I have a blog *gasp* – said they MIGHT come for a few days.  I’d love that, by the way!!
The thought makes me happy – we don’t have very many house guests or even just “have people over”.  It isn’t my comfort zone at all – hospitality is not my gift but something I would like to work on. 
To make my guests feel at home, I try to change the sheets on the bed … HA – just kidding!!  I mean, I change the sheets, but OF COURSE, who would NOT change the sheets (well, actually, my parents-in-law tell the story that once they visited a great-uncle & great-aunt of theirs – and arrived very late – in the middle of the night.  The great-uncle and aunt insisted my in-laws sleep in their bed that night – still warm from their previously sleeping-in-it bodies!!!!!).  But otherwise, I do sometimes leave magazines on the bedside table and make sure there are tissues, an alarm clock, etc. 
How long should a guest stay?  That depends on who they are:  my mom can stay forever (she cooks, helps with the kids, does crafty things, etc) … someone else – maybe a few days (we’ve hosted missionaries for a week once – it went well enough). 
2. Walter Elias Disney was born this week (December 5) back in 1905 …what’s your all time favorite Disney movie? Here’s a list in case you’re struggling…and yes, you have to pick one.

Oh how well I know the facts about Disney’s birth!  I’ve had 2 kids go through Missouri State history in 4th grade!!  🙂 He and Harry Truman are the 2 most popular native sons of Missouri, I do believe! 

My all-time favorite movie … that’s tough – probably one of the older ones like Cinderella.

3. What was the last thing you purchased that you realized was a mistake after the fact?
When I had my first baby, I got a diaper wipe warmer … total & complete waste of money!!!! 
4. What percentage of your Christmas shopping is done online?
Currently?  0%
Potentially?  about 90%
5. Amaryllis-snowdrop-poinsettia…your favorite winter blossom?
I guess I’d have to go with a standard poinsettia – red or burgundy.
6. What is one thing on your personal Christmas wish list? I think we all want peace on earth so let’s make this answer an actual item.
I want the book about Dietrich Bonhoeffer by Eric Metaxes … probably a very weird request – but I saw the author speak about it on some C-SPAN book program (total coincidence because I never ever ever watch C-SPAN!!!) and am totally intrigued!!   I follow Eric Metaxes now on facebook – he is a Greek-German-American – and a Christian – and an interesting personality.
7. If you could only use one word today what would it be?
Tired.    🙂
8. Insert your own random thought here.
I am thrilled, tickled, and just a little mortified about how my little blog has expanded in readership lately.  My sincerest pleasure is writing – my dream is that people would read and relate to what I write … but my nightmare is that I would turn out to be a horrible disappointment as a writer or a person ……… 

Writing is so personal yet revealing – but it is a way for an introvert like me to open up to people – to share – to explain myself – to process my thoughts among friends.  It is a way for me to record my life and the things that I want to remember later.  My blog is a place I can go back to and look at to see how far I’ve come (or how far I’ve regressed, whatever the case may be). 

I sometimes wish I had a true niche’ – like homemaking or decorating or writing professionally  or devotional writing or genius parenting or relationship advice – but I am what I say I am:  “an ordinary Hausfrau.”  Just a woman who wants to continue to learn, share, grow (not in SIZE but personally!!), and enjoy the journey God has for me.  I just want to take a moment to say THANK YOU for reading my blog – and for the sweet comments I get. 


This entry was posted in Hodge Podge. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Hodge Podge – 12/7/2011

  1. Rochelle says:

    We have house guest each year for the holidays I am always excited to receive them. It is typically the only time of year we have house guests. The one thing I do to try to make them feel special is cook a really nice, full breakfast, waffles, eggs, sausage, grits, biscuits, fresh fruit, coffee, cheese blitz, fried potatoes and omelets on request. Its a once a year feast and I love that everyone loves it. Thanks for sharing and having me think about what I will cook this year.

  2. Nice Hodgepodge…..I like this meme and finding new blogs….I'll be back….have a wonderful Wednesday!

  3. ArtyMarti says:

    Remember that God takes the ordinary and makes it into something extra-ordinary, a jewel in his sight. And you, friend are one of his jewels. You sharing your ordinary experiences touches the hearts of many. Few of us are "stars".

  4. Joyce says:

    I'm reading the Bonhoeffer bio now-it's good! Lots of tired Hodgepodgers today : )

  5. Susan says:

    Good to "meet" you on the HP. I liked your comment about the diaper wipe warmer. I think there are quite a few baby items that could fall into the "waste of money" category.Have a great Wednesday, and God bless you.

  6. Godsgalnj says:

    LOL to the parents-in-law story!! A diaper wipe warmer? First I heard of one lolI hear you about the whole blogging thing since I'm the same way 🙂 Hope you have a beautiful rest of the week!

  7. Tami says:

    Conny, I think your blog is great! Don't underestimate yourself!! I enjoy hearing about your german roots and daily life. Have a great Wednesday!Tami

Comments are closed.