Hodge Podge – 12/14/2011

Is it REALLY Wednesday AGAIN!?  Time is flying!!!!  Well, it’s time for HODGE PODGE with Joyce and Friends then:

1. Do you put Christmas decorations in every room of your house? If not every room, what rooms do you decorate?
I decorate the living room & dining room – a few left-over decorations in the kitchen.  That’s all.

2. If you could visit one of the Nordic countries (Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, and Sweden) which one would you choose and why?
I’ve been to Denmark & Sweden … I also once landed at the airport/an airstrip in Iceland (on a military Space-Available flight in like 1975 or 76?) … so I guess since Dan’s mom’s mom’s family is from Norway, I’ll say NORWAY …
2:45 p.m.
HAD TO COME BACK & EDIT THIS … upon contemplation I have NOT been to Sweden!!!!  I was thinking we went to Copenhagen (which we did) and it was the capital of Sweden – but it is the capital of Denmark, of course!!! 
3. What does the word faith mean to you?
Oh, so many things!!  Faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen (Hebrews 11:1)
4. You can go back to your childhood for one day…what day and age would you choose?
Any summer I spent in Germany with my Oma & Opa … the age didn’t matter; it was always wonderful!
5. When did you last have ‘punch’? If it’s not too much trouble share your favorite punch recipe. 
Last Christmas, I made “punch” for my daughter’s class for their Christmas party and it has been requested again this Friday!  My recipe is SO easy:

1 – 64 ounce – fruit punch
1 – 2 liter – Sprite or Lemon-Lime soda
several scoops of your favorite flavor of sherbet (I prefer raspberry)
Throw it all in a punch bowl & ENJOY!!  🙂
6. Do you fill stockings at your house? Are stockings opened before or after the bigger gifts?
I do try to fill stockings with 1 or 2 items.  They are opened whenever we get around to it. 
7. What takes your breath away?
Majestic sights of God’s creation.  When a moment I’ve been anticipating finally comes to being – walking down the aisle on my wedding day, the birth day of my children, the moment I glimpsed my husband at the airport when he came home from Iraq, etc etc etc. 
8. Insert your own random thought here
Recently I came up on a poem attributed to Mother Thesesa – but perchance someone else wrote it – but no matter WHO wrote it, it has been a source of great encouragement to me lately:
“People are often unreasonable, illogical and self centered;
Forgive them anyway.

If you are kind, people may accuse you of selfish, ulterior motives;
Be kind anyway.

If you are successful, you will win some false friends and some true enemies;
Succeed anyway.
If you are honest and frank, people may cheat you;
Be honest and frank anyway.

What you spend years building, someone could destroy overnight;
Build anyway.

If you find serenity and happiness, they may be jealous;
Be happy anyway.

The good you do today, people will often forget tomorrow;
Do good anyway.
Give the world the best you have, and it may never be enough;
Give the world the best you’ve got anyway.

You see, in the final analysis, it is between you and your God;
It was never between you and them anyway.”

This entry was posted in Hodge Podge. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hodge Podge – 12/14/2011

  1. Bobbi says:

    I loved the poem at the end. Thanks!

  2. ArtyMarti says:

    Your random thought is so inspiring. Other people sure can steal our joy if we let them.

  3. The Hodgepodge is fun. I like your inspirational poem. It is so good to just keep doing your best. Satin will always be there to try and drag you down, but our Heavenly Father has given us victory.Merry Christmas!

  4. HOOTIN' ANNI says:

    "Majestic sights of God's Creation"….those words just blew me away!!!!ATCHAFALAYA SWAMP PHOTOS is my link for today. Hope you can find time to visit with me.

  5. Joyce says:

    I love that poem…I've seen it attributed to Mother Theresa too. She was a wise woman.

Comments are closed.