4. Advent

ONE WEEK – ONE WEEK until Christmas!  Are you ready?  Is your shopping done?  Your menu finalized??  Is your heart ready to celebrate Jesus’ birth? 

It will be a little different this year because Christmas is on a Sunday – not that it matters what day of the week Christmas falls on, but somehow a Sunday seems that much more sacred.

One more shopping trip with a friend tomorrow, and I should be DONE with my shopping.  I am pleased that we DID keep our gift giving simple this year – and yet, I think everyone will be getting something they really wanted; and we were able to remember the most significant people in our lives-friends and teachers and helpers at church.  AND I actually wrote a few Christmas cards as well!!  I’ve really pared my list down this year – and in a way it makes me sad to NOT send out the 100+ cards that I usually do to our friends and family all over the United States and the world, really, but it was necessary this year. 

We put our spare change in the Salvation Army kettles when we saw then and contributed to our local food pantry with a food drive our church/school held.  I think I’ve somewhat fulfilled my goals for this Christmas; though I wish we could have done MORE for others.  Yet as I watched some children enjoy “Shop with a Cop” at Target the other night as I shopped, I realized that many who financially can contribute to such project do … and sometimes time is also a gift you can give to someone that means just as much as money. 

Enjoy this week of preparation before you … and have a blessed 4. Advent Sunday.

This entry was posted in christmas. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 4. Advent

  1. Mrs. Doug says:

    I want you to know I'm still here… though you haven't heard from us in a while. I hope you and your family have a wonderful Christmas and a very prosperous 2012. I enjoy reading about all your plans and experiences and soon I hope to get back to blogging, but just haven't had much time for it lately.I am also finished with shopping and was able to keep the spending to a minimum this year. Joanna and I are making many of the gifts and some came from thrift stores or from local crafters. It has been fun to hunt for things our friends and loved ones will really enjoy. All the "gift exchanges" and "yankee swaps" are over now, so we can concentrate on getting gifts wrapped and ready to give for our family. We will all be together… Joanna, Heather, Brandon, Mr. D and I for Christmas.We are expecting a new grandson in March. We just got Joanna moved up with us. She has her own "little camper in the woods".She has enough room in her camper to have Heather and Brandon stay there, and between our two dwellings, there will be plenty of stove and oven space. I'm very excited since this will be the first time we are all together in a long time for Christmas. God Bless.

Comments are closed.