Between the Years

In Germany, the time period between Christmas and the New Year is often called the time “between the years” …
Christmas has come and gone – and we are preparing and anticipating for the NEW YEAR while closing out the OLD.
Somehow that is reflective of what is going on in my heart in these days as well.
But before I get too philosophical about my thoughts about old things and new beginnings, I want to share what we’ve been up to the last 2 weeks that has kept me from my blog:
My kids were invited to a Christmas party on December 20th with a group of friends … complete with decorating gingerbread houses and playing lots of silly games and a gift exchange.  Miriam sported her new hair-do (called “fountain head” or “the Pebbles Flintstone look”) for the occasion:
Miriam turned 2 years old on December 22!  This year she definitely got the hang of OPENING GIFTS!
We spent a few days with Dan’s parents and that is where the celebration took place.

My parents arrived while we were still with Dan’s parents … so we came home to MORE grandparents!!  I am so thankful my parents could make the long trip from Tennessee to here to spend Christmas with us.

The kids woke up in their new Christmas jammies on Sunday morning (well, actually, we just got Andrew a St. Louis Cardinals tshirt since he is getting too big for “jammies”). 

It was very special to have church on Christmas morning … and then we came home to a turkey dinner.  Anna helps so much in the kitchen now – and this year, she prepared special place cards for us all to help decorate our table:

Miriam found the whole Christmas experience to be EXHAUSTING:

2 days after Christmas, Dan and I celebrated our 19th anniversary!

Since my parents were still here, we asked them to babysit while we went to a very special dinner at an old mansion-turned-restaurant called Sybill’s (named after the owners’ daughter).

A few of Dan’s teachers got together and gave us a very generous gift certificate and the recommendation to go.  What a blessing to get away together for the evening, sit near a cozy fireplace in a beautifully decorated room, and eat a leisurely meal (that happened to be incredibly DELICIOUS!!!).   We topped the night off by going to Goodwill, Big Lots, and Kmart because we’re high falutin’ like that … 😉   

My parents are leaving this morning … and we’ll be using the last few days of our vacation to get some things done around the house, tie up a few loose ends, and close out some issues we need to resolve from the OLD year.  I do look forward to what 2012 will bring us – definitely some NEW beginnings and some NEW directions and some NEW resolutions and some reNEWED hope and strength from the Lord because we will need it every day. 

Enjoy your time time “between the years” … as we say good-bye 2011 and WELCOME 2012!

This entry was posted in anniversary, Baby, birthday, christmas, Family, holiday. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Between the Years

  1. Rochelle says:

    Happy New Year Conny, I hope whatever gettin it together feels like to you is realized in 2012. May his blessings be all around you. What a wonderful year you've had.

  2. melanie says:

    I like the name/idea of "time between the years"And yes, you ARE high-falutin' like that!

  3. It is well says:

    I have always liked that saying.."between the years". I think it is a good description of closing out one year and preparing for the next…even if only in our minds and hearts! Congratulations on the anniversary! And wishing you and yours some wonderful new things for 2012! 🙂

  4. hi friend im glad you had a very good time.. i receive a christmas card i think is yours..thank you very much what a blessing..my loves for you and your family..soraya

  5. Tami says:

    You did have a busy two weeks! Happy Birthday to your daughter. 2 years old is a great age! Happy Anniversary! Merry Christmas! and Happy New Years. I think I got them all! =)

  6. Maribeth says:

    Oh, I totally love Miriam in her high Chair! That is so adorable!

  7. Jedidja says:

    Thank you for your fine blog of this hair. I enjoy reading. Also because you often link to your German background. I wish you a happy new year! Hope in 2012 even post comments.Lieve groet.

  8. Ja die tage zwischen den jahren…one goes and one comes…may it hold wonderful blessings from God above for you and your family…Guten rutsch ins neue jahr…Hugs Karla

  9. Karoline says:

    Liebe Conny, die Zeit zwischen den Jahren, war ja tatsächlich sehr ereignisreich! Herzlichen Glückwunsch zum 19. Jahrestag! Werden besondere Hochzeitstage (silberne, goldene Hochzeit) in den USA eigentlich auch groß gefeiert?Einen guten Rutsch wünscht DirKaroline

Comments are closed.