Happy Homemaker Monday: 1/2/2012

Sandra has redesigned HAPPY HOMEMAKER MONDAY – and I’m joining in today:

The weather:::

28 degrees … but feels like 15 degrees. 

On my reading pile:::

Bonhoeffer: Pastor, Martyr, Prophet, Spy  by Eric Metaxas
and for “mindless” reading The Cabinet of Curiosities by Preston & Child

On my TV:::

a DVD we got from Vision Forum for Christmas – Pilgrim’s Progress:  Journey to Heaven

On the menu for this week:::

I’d really like to try menu planning more this year … Unfortunately, as school starts up again tomorrow, so does the busy-ness that keeps us from being able to sit around the table & eat as a family.  I’m really going to have to think more about our schedule and how our meals fit into it.

On my to do list:::
Finish painting my bathroom cabinet, replacing hardware, and taking down border/painting walls!  I’m taking my 1988 bathroom into the 2000’s!
BEFORE:

Looking around the house:::

My living room & dining room are actaully fairly picked up!  I’ve caught up on laundry and dishes … but that’s only because we’ve been on a 2 week Christmas Break – and everyone has been home to help me out. 

From the camera:::
my advent wreath on Christmas morning

Something fun to share:::

We had a nice Christmas … and despite keeping things “simple” this year, I think everyone got something they really wanted as a present!  We really made an effort to keep CHRIST in CHRISTmas – and I am hopeful that our focus remained on THE REASON FOR THE SEASON! 

On my prayer list:::
Many families who are bereaved and hurting this holiday season:
a former member of our church was killed in a freak railroad accident on December 19.  He left behind a wife and 5 daughters.  He was my age, which really brings reality home that we just never know when God will choose to call us Home.  We are thankful this man had a testimony that he had a personal relationship with Jesus!

A friend of my sister-in-law’s had a brain tumor and died in surgery the week before Christmas …  She was not yet 40 years old and had 4 children. 

Bible verse, Devotional:::
from Psalm 37

3 Trust in the LORD, and do good;
so shalt thou dwell in the land, and verily thou shalt be fed.
4 Delight thyself also in the LORD;
and he shall give thee the desires of thine heart.
5 Commit thy way unto the LORD;
trust also in him; and he shall bring it to pass.
6 And he shall bring forth thy righteousness as the light,
and thy judgment as the noonday.
7 Rest in the LORD, and wait patiently for him:
fret not thyself because of him who prospereth in his way,
because of the man who bringeth wicked devices to pass.
8 Cease from anger, and forsake wrath:
fret not thyself in any wise to do evil.
This entry was posted in Happy Homemaker. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Homemaker Monday: 1/2/2012

  1. Jedidja says:

    Great to read this. But how awful that such a young person dies of cancer. It is always awful, if you have young or old.

  2. Sandra says:

    Oh that is so sad about your sister in law's friend and your former member of the church 😦 So true, you just never know.Hope you have a wonderful New Year 🙂

Comments are closed.