Hodge Podge Wednesday – 1/4/2012

Joining Joyce & friends for Hodge Podge Wednesday:

1. What are three words you would use to describe your 2011?
unexpected. 
challenging. 
blessed.

2. Do you like shrimp? What’s your favorite way to have it prepared?

I do – even though someone recently shared with me what shrimp actually eat themselves!!!!  I love them about any way – but probably best on my shrimp caprese at Olive Garden.

3. Is your house de-Christmased? If so when did you tackle  job? If not, when will the decorations come down?

YES!!  And it has been since December 30.  I even sorted thru all my decoration bins and weeded out broken or insignificant ornaments this year.  Yeah for de-cluttering!!

4. Do you like to watch scary movies?

Not really … but they don’t really bother me either.  I am just too much of a realist to believe scary movies unless they are based on something “real life”. 

5. ice skating~sledding~skiing~snowboarding~of the four listed which wintertime activity do you most enjoy?

ice skating … but haven’t been in years and years. 

6. Did you have a childhood hideout? Describe it.

I don’t think so – my haven was my own room, which I spent a lot of time in.

7. What’s a place or space that motivates you?

I guess since I don’t get out much, I would have to say sitting on my comfy living room couch.  I kind of have oversight of my house and can think about what all I need to do, want to do, and really should GET UP AND DO!!

8. Insert your own random thought here.

Circumstances change; people change; relationships change – sometimes for the best, sometimes it is painful.  HOWEVER, in this ever-changing world, we can always trust that GOD remains immutable … in other words, He never changes.  I recently read 3 good reasons to explain why God absolutely CAN NOT change: 

1.  Change occurs in chronological order – which means the process has a beginning and an end.  God is eternal.  He had no beginning & will never have an end.

2.  Change makes things better or worse.  God does not add or lose anything from His character; He does not get better or worse. 

3.  Change often involves getting new information … God knows EVERYTHING, He is omniscient … He doesn’t learn anything new nor does anything surprise Him. 

This sounds like a God I can trust fully as I face 2012!!
 
“Numbers 23:19 is very clear, ‘God is not a man, that He should lie, nor a son of man, that He should change His mind. Does He speak and then not act? Does He promise and not fulfill?’  No, God does not change His mind. These verses affirm the doctrine of God’s immutability: He is unchanging and unchangeable.”

This entry was posted in Hodge Podge. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hodge Podge Wednesday – 1/4/2012

  1. Hi conny i wrote on your last comment i have a new blog the other had cliches and i couldn't get in..hope you join me friend..God bless you

  2. Oh your tree is down already…wartest du nicht fuer Heilig Drei Konig am 6 Januar? That was always the tradition in Bavaria where I grew up…Happy New Year sweet lady….Karla

  3. Marti says:

    Your insights on change were inspiring. Thank you for these words of wisdom.

  4. melanie says:

    Good thoughts for Between the Years, Conny : )

Comments are closed.