Favorite Things: DISHES

Sandra started a new feature today (well, she is reviving an old one).  I’m joining in! 

So what exactly is Friday Favorites?

If you have something special you would like to show, if you have a trinket which has a special meaning for you or maybe something you have just found and own or would like to have. It could be anything, a trinket, a book, a new cookware set, a necklace, a photograph, a project you’re working on or finished….anything that you love and would like to show us all.

We have a pretty good Goodwill store in our area – in fact, we visit it several times a week as new things are always coming in, and it is located on the way home from our church/school/work. 

My husband goes directly to the BOOK SECTION (big surprise!?) – the kids scatter to toys and books or clothes (Anna).  I usually have my routine of scanning the clothes and then the dishes/kitchen stuff. 

This week my efforts were rewarded!!  I found this delicate little plate among the dishes – for 50 cents.  I love china and (Czech) crystal and (Polish or Strassbourg/French) pottery. I don’t really “collect” it, but I enjoy the few pieces that I do have.

This little plate would be perfect for holding something tiny like jewelry at the kitchen sink or tea bags by your cup or packets of sweetner/stevia by the coffee maker.
And I always make sure I turn pretty dishes over at the Goodwill – like this one – to see if there is a stamp or indication of where it is made, etc.  This one is “Made in Germany”!  🙂
A while back I had found this other little dish at Goodwill – it holds my watch, some earrings, sometimes my contact lens case in the bathroom:

It is bone china – made in England!  Another SCORE for me as I have been fascinated with all things British since we visited England and traveled there for 14 days in the summer of 1998 (when we were stationed in Germany). 

My husband found this plate at Goodwill a while back for about $6, I think:
It is DELFT – made in Holland – and numbered since the plate is hand painted!
Someone didn’t realize the TREASURE they had when they donated it to Goodwill, I’m afraid.
Their loss … our gain!
I have some special dishes in my china cabinet such as my Oma’s tea/coffee set, which I remember her using when I was a little girl.  I also often played with her china and dishes, which she kept in a “Schrank” in her living room:
Among my FAVORITE china/dish treasures are also some plates that my Opa kept in his little garden hut – that was his get-away from the city life of Frankfurt.   We actually occasionally ate off these beautiful plates when we had a grilled Bratwurst lunch or a Broetchen with Nutella snack … because after all, dishes are meant to be USED:

Thank you for sharing in MY favorite things!  [Note the pretty flowers from our 19th anniversary (on Dec 27) are still in pretty good shape – I’m so pleased that after “weeding” out some drooping blooms, I still have quite a lovely arrangement left to enjoy!]

 

This entry was posted in Germany. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Favorite Things: DISHES

  1. Sandra says:

    Oh I love your beautiful dishes Conny, you have some exquisite pieces 🙂

  2. Susan says:

    I am a lover of pretty china and enjoyed seeing your treasures.

  3. its so beautiful…thanks for sharing conny loves soraya

  4. Maribeth says:

    Had to click over and tell you how this post made me smile. Perhaps because my Grandma and Papa brought me up with their precious and well used china!

  5. Jedidja says:

    I like your favorite think: 'Het Delfts blauwe bord.'

Comments are closed.