Hodge Podge – 1/11/2012

This is the “Is It REALLY Wednesday AGAIN??!” version of Hodge Podge for me!!  🙂
Joining Joyce & Friends:

1. Lake Superior University has once again published a list of words/phrases they think should be banished from the Queen’s English in 2012-
amazing, baby bump, shared sacrifice, occupy, blowback, man cave, the new normal, pet parent, win the future, trickeration, ginormous, and thank you in advance.

Which of these words/phrases would you most like to see banished from everyday speech and why? Go here to read more about how the words are chosen.

Not too many phrases bother me … My husband is a teacher and over the years, he has come across many phrases he has found silly or annoying.  A few years ago, the phrase to use was “snap!” or “oh, snap!” – to which my husband, to the utter groaning, non-amusement of his students would add:  “crackle!  pop!”
Currently it is not so much phrases or words that bother me but tones … like when my daughter says, “Yeah, right.” or “Ya think!” and there’s “as if” and a few others …
I guess that’s not really keeping with the above list – but these things bother me more!  🙂

2. Are you easily embarrassed?

With the friends I hang around with … I sure hope not!!  (you KNOW who you are …)

3. What is your go-to snack?

just ONE?  I guess I’ll admit I have an unhealthy love for poptarts … :-O 
I actually prefer Toaster Strudels, but I can’t always justify buying them. 

4. Have you ever been to Washington D.C.? If not do you have any desire to go? What site/attraction would you most want to see in that city? If you have been, what’s your favorite site/attraction?

We lived outside of D.C. when I was a child.  We lived in Alexandria, VA from 1975(?) until 1981 – and I guess I took it for granted that we lived right by OUR NATION’S CAPITOL  Almost every year – from kindergarten to 5th grade, we took a field trip to some Smithsonian Museum or the other.  It wasn’t until we went back when I was an adult that I realized what TREASURES those museums are -my favorite is the Natural History one. 

5. sit ups-planks-lunges-squats…which do you hate the least?

I’d have to say I hate ALL OF THEM equally … but I think I hate abdominal exercises worst of all.   

6. What’s a small act of kindness you were shown that you’ve never forgotten?

There have been so many acts of kindness extended to us … I think the most recent kindnesses I remember are those to us when we found out we were expecting Miriam – 9 years after our last baby and 5 years after I’d given away or sold all my baby things because I just never thought I’d have another child …. I don’t think we had to buy very much at all for Miriam.  Our church and our friends rallied around us – and we were given so many gifts to include a gorgeous, gently used crib and my parents provided the stroller/car seat.  From the biggest things to the very tiniest – and even borrowed maternity clothes that were actually very cute – we had everything our baby girl (and we) needed! 
7. Have you ever been a blood donor?

No, I’m too anemic to donate blood … but I have been blessed to receive blood twice as I’ve needed 2 transfusions in the last 7 years. 

8. Insert your own random thought here.

My mind is a swirling mess of upcoming trips that I am planning.  I haven’t traveled much in the last 7 years, but suddenly I am presented with 2 opportunities to go to 2 places I am SO EXCITED to go:   a weekend in Chicago with my daughter in February AND a 10 day trip to GERMANY with my son in March!!!
I am researching tickets today – and trying NOT to think about how much this will all cost.  But with my husband’s blessing, I will proceed to PLAN for both trips – hopefully without too much guilt.  

This entry was posted in Hodge Podge. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Hodge Podge – 1/11/2012

  1. Your trips sound great !! Have a blast!

  2. Rochelle says:

    Happy New Year Conny,Thank you so much for your dedication in posting on my site. I have been in a bit of a tangle lately about how to proceed. 2011 is up so I feel I've met my commitment yet I still have close to 60 days to make a full year. It has been an interesting learning about myself as I ponder proceeding forward.On another note, I always enjoy your HodgePodge Wednesday questions. Chicago is one of my favorite cities. When you go be sure to purchase some Gourmet Popcorn from Garretts. If you really like popcorn get the cheddar cheese and caramel mix, it is to die for. I love to exercise most times but the one I dislike the most are planks.My go to snack is potatoe chips, I can never eat just one. A kindness I recently experienced that I will not forget is someone handed me a coupon for 40% off something while I was standing in line. The awesome thing about it is I was praying that it would be on sale and God stepped in, touched someone's heart to give me their coupon so I would get a reduced price. I am expecting great things and he is showing up in all kinds of ways. I give blood regularly becuase I once was very sick and needed blood and from that moment forward I have always given blood when I could.I live a couple of hours from DC and love everything about the city however I cannot wait to see the new Martin Luther King Monument. Thanks for giving me some cool things to think about.

  3. Joyce says:

    Trips! How fun! Enjoy the planning too because that gets you excited about it all.

  4. Brenda says:

    Your trips sound exciting!I agree about the tone of voice along with words. I think the biggest one that bugs me is "What the?" I detest when people say that. I want to tell them to go ahead and finish the sentence, it's in their hearts anyway.

  5. Marti says:

    Oh, you must take those trips with joy. My belief is that when opportunity arises, don't hesitate to act, you may never get the chance to do it again.

  6. melanie says:

    ENJOY each those trips with your big kids ~ They are priceless gifts!

Comments are closed.