Pop-Overs (a Recipe)

Editing this post to link up with Sandra for Cooking Thursday.

I’m no food photographer … and I’m no cook or baker – but lately, I’ve been trying to learn to cook better (lately = the last 3 years!!).  I have a ga-billion recipes printed, written down, or cut out of magazines. 
Yesterday I took some time to look through them, put them in a binder, and write down the ones I want to try soon.
I happened to have all the ingredients for SECRETLY SIMPLE POPOVERS (from Real Simple magazine)
I made them last night – but I ate one this morning with a little NUTELLA on it – and it was STILL yummy!!
There are 4 eggs in this recipe, and I hoped that would help my husband as he is trying to do a “low carb” diet right now (and is losing weight at an amazing rate – I hate him!!  j/k!).

SECRETLY SIMPLE POPOVERS

Hands-on Time:  5 minutes
Total Time:  40 minutes
makes 12 popovers.

3 TBSP unsalted butter, melted – plus more for the pan
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour, spooned and leveled
1 1/2 cups whole milk (I used 2% – no difference)
4 large eggs
1/2 tsp kosher salt

~  Heat oven to 400 degrees.  Brush the cups of 12-non-stick muffin tin cups with butter.

~  In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, milk, eggs, butter, and salt  until only a few lumps remain (do not overmix).

~  Divide the batter among the prepared muffin cups and bake until puffed, golden brown – 30-35 minutes.  DO NOT open the oven door before 30 minutes are up or the popovers will collapse!  Remove one popover to check the underside for brown-ness.  SERVE IMMEDIATELY. 

SO YUMMY just warm and plain – or with butter and honey – or reheated in the morning with NUTELLA!!  🙂

This entry was posted in recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pop-Overs (a Recipe)

  1. Sandra says:

    I love popovers, will have to try these 🙂

  2. Jen says:

    I have always wanted to try my hand at making popovers. I may just have to try yours.Have a great week!!

  3. Connie,These look yummy and easy. My kind of recipe! Don't sell yourself short on the cooking and photography. You did great on both! Thanks for the recipe.Blessings,Susie

  4. Candice says:

    Looks delightful! Can't wait to try out, thanks for sharing.

  5. they seem easy to make..thanks for sharing the recepee connie glad you are back again…loves soraya

Comments are closed.