Saturday’s Random Thoughts

For no other reason other than to keep my online diary going and to share a few pictures of my lovely daughters, I am writing a little of what we have done/experienced in the last few days:
1.  Thursday it snowed!  On Friday afternoon, the girls went out and played in what was left of it.  I’ve decided we NEED MORE SNOW – lots MORE SNOW … and please some SNOW DAYS off school!!  Maybe in February?!
2.  Andrew came home from a 2 day basketball tournament on Friday evening.  Our team was 0-4 … but the boys had fun and losing gracefully builds character.  If that is really true, our school’s basketball team will have A LOT of character by the time this season is over.  🙂
3.  On Wednesday Anna had a special treat.  She’d gotten a gift certificate for a hair appointment for her birthday back in November … and she finally got to use it.  This child has masses of hair, layers and layers (she does NOT take after me!).  After a shampoo and conditioning session, a trim, and a blow out, her hair was SO gorgeous, and she looked SO grown up!  Since a friend was watching Miriam, Anna and I got to go out for ice cream and some “girl time”.   🙂 

4.  Anna and I continued our “girl time” today … however, not in such a fun way – but in cleaning out her room (again).  This child could be on “Hoarders”, I’m afraid.  For example, there was a gift bag in the corner of her room with just a bunch of stuff in it:  crumpled construction papers, broken head band, used sheets of stickers, pieces-parts to art/craft projects, broken pencils, etc.  I asked her what in the world all this stuff was – and she said, “Junk, I guess.”  Ummm, yep – and it all went straight to the garbage.  We carried out 3 (kindda small) bags of trash -and re-organized her bookcases and some other clutter areas like hair accessories and earrings.  NOW, if only the room would stay this way …

5.  For dinner tonight we had our newest favorite meal – courtesy of Pioneer Woman: 
CHEESEBURGER SALAD

Easy, yummy, includes veggies (points for eating “healthy”) … but then I went and added a little bit of crumbled BACON because bacon makes everything BETTER!!  I’m surprised bacon wasn’t in the original PW recipe … but then we’d have to re-name it Bacon Cheeseburger Salad?! 

Have a blessed Sunday … and a nice Martin Luther King Jr. Holiday!!

This entry was posted in Annie-Belle, Baby, Drew, Random Thoughts, snow, winter. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Saturday’s Random Thoughts

  1. I love when I get one on one time with my kids individually. It is just a little more special. Glad you had this time with your pretty little girl. We haven't had too much snow that has stuck around here, and I am happy, cuz I hate taking care of the chickens in the snow!Bacon cheeseburger salad. Now that's a good idea!Blessings,Susie

  2. melanie says:

    Are you off of school for today's federal holiday?? 😀 Happy Monday!Cute pics of your girls ~ Our little bit of snow is gone already. What? no pics of before/after in Anna's room?? 😉

  3. Hallo Conny,die Kinder spielen im Schenee, wie schön. Sie sind so süß.Dein Salat sieht lecker aus.Wie schön das du nach Deutschland kommst.LgBarbara

  4. We finally got a little snow yesterday too and the kids are so excited! So far not enough to cancel anything, but it is supposed to snow all week, so the schools might get cancelled, but not ours of course 😉 I have a feeling my daughter is going to be a lot like Anna, she is already quite the pack rat. I always have to spend the most time in her room on cleaning day and she never wants to through anything out!That salad looks yummy! I will have to try it soon!Have a blessed Sunday!

  5. Marti says:

    Reading you post, I remembered back when my girls were little. Their room was always a disaster. I always feared that the health department would classify it as a hazardous zone. But now they are all grown up and their houses are white glove clean. So there is hope for your daughter.

  6. Hi connie i found it strange…i dont hear anything from you..you might be busy…im trying only in the morning to be 1 hour behind the pc..blogging isnt easy…and only few respond starting to get like myspace..kind of borring…but i will keep the page..untill God tells me…have a very blessed sunday…loves soraya

  7. Jedidja says:

    Finally snow. Not here.How nice, your daughter's hair. My daughter is eleven and is not deal with girls things. She prefer soccer.And her room is a mess. Especially books, Donald Duck, pens, candy wrappers on the floor… Ah, we will teach them clean up their rooms.

Comments are closed.