A Mile in His Shoes – Review and GIVE AWAY

tgc

Last weekend, we had a family movie night and watched the new DVD release A MILE IN HIS SHOES which is based on the novel by Frank Nappi THE LEGEND OF MICKEY TUSSLER

This baseball themed movie was well liked by everyone in our family:  my 13 year old son, 11 year old daughter, and my husband (my 2 year old doesn’t really count as a movie critic yet!).  Based on the reviews from the Dove Foundation, I had no worries about showing this movie to my family without previewing it first. 

The movie from the director of another film my family likes, Angels in the Outfield.  A Mile in His Shoes is an inspiring story about a teenager who has Asperger’s Syndrome, a form of autism, and his relationship to minor league baseball coach Arthur “Murph” Murphy and the River Rats team.  It is a story that includes faith and focuses on friendship and determination. 

Personally, I enjoyed the movie because it was not too cheesy and the humor was appropriate and light (and I think the actors Dean Cain and Luke Schroder – yes, son of Rick(y) Schroder of the 1980’s Silver Spoons acclaim – did a FANTASTIC job in their roles as Coach Murph and Mickey Tussler).  It was one of those movies that sweeps you into another place and into someone else’s story – where you find yourself cheering for the heroes and boo’ing the villains.  And yet, there were lessons to be learned, and faith is encouraged through scenes that show prayer and the Bible incorporated.   My entire family gives this movie TWO THUMBS UP!

You can watch a trailer of this movie on YouTube

Like I said, this movie is now available on DVD – or you can win a copy for your family by entering my giveaway:
RULES for the giveaway:
U.S. entries only, please. 

~  To receive ONE entry into this giveaway, just leave a comment – any comment – preferrably a positive comment – in the comments section of this post.  Please make sure I can contact you in case you win – either through blogger or leave an email address. 

~  To receive a SECOND entry for this giveaway, go to facebook and “LIKE” A Mile in His Shoes, then come back and leave a comment letting me know you did so. 

NO ENTRIES AFTER Friday, January 20, 2012 after 11:59 p.m. CST will be considered.

A winner will be chosen on Saturday, January 21, 2012. 

I am so pleased to offer you this chance because I really enjoyed this movie!   I so appreciate the chance I was given to review and give away this DVD.

DISCLOSURE of Material Connection:  I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog.  Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 225:  “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsments and Testimonials in Advertising.” 

This entry was posted in give away, reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A Mile in His Shoes – Review and GIVE AWAY

  1. Michelle G says:

    Liked it on fb 🙂

  2. Michelle G says:

    I think I am just in the nick of time to enter 😉 lolLooks like a great family movie!I'm off to "like" on F/B!Michelle G

  3. Anonymous says:

    Sounds like a great family movie!! Which are hard to find!

  4. skoots1mom says:

    i love baseballand i love good human storiesand things my family can watch;)

  5. Sounds like a good one, thanks for the giveaway!

  6. Renee says:

    I 'liked' the movie on FBreneesuz82(at)msn.com

  7. Renee says:

    Thanks for this giveaway; looks like a good family moviereneesuz82(at)msn.com

  8. melanie says:

    "positive comment" :DSounds like a great movie ~ Thank you for sharing!

  9. Kari says:

    Conny, I also "liked" the movie on FB. Kari

  10. Kari says:

    Conny, this sounds like a great movie. Thanks for the recommendation. Kari Hadley

  11. Maribeth says:

    Sounds like my kind of movie.

Comments are closed.