Two Reminders:

Two things on my mind this morning to share with you – one is  more important than the other. 

#1 – of lesser importance in the light of eternity is that my GIVEAWAY of a great family movie is still open for entries until midnight tonight (or 11:59 p.m. CST) – U.S. entries only.  Check it out at the original blog post:  GIVEAWAY

#2 – Just a reminder from Psalm 139 – it was my reading for today – this is one of my FAVORITE Scriptures
Usually, I dwell on the miracle of life and how God knows us even before our bodies are completely formed in the womb; it reminds me of the sanctity of life – but today what struck me is that the God who we can know PERSONALLY and who knows us INTIMATELY has recorded us in HIS BOOK: 

vs. 16, “Thine eyes have seen my unformed substance;
And in THY BOOK they were all written.” 

This thought led me to Psalm 56:8 – not only does God have a BOOK for us, but He also has a “Bottle” for us:
“Thou hast taken account of my wanderings;
Put my tears in THY BOTTLE;
Are they not in THY BOOK?”

As a “book person” I love these thoughts!!  I can’t say I totally understand God’s books and bottles – is this figurative speech or does God really keep records of us on His shelf (somehow I’m thinking He doesn’t NEED bookcases like we do!) – but it is the CONCEPT that amazes me – and challenges me.  God is “writing down” everything about my life – recording every idle word and every ugly word and every edifying word!

One last thought from the prophesy of the book of Malachi – who is writing to a people who are in exile and reminding them of the blessings of doing right and the curse of doing wrong … Malachi too speaks of God’s BOOK:

Malachi 3:16, “Then those who feared the Lord spoke to one another, and the Lord gave attention and heard it, and a BOOK OF REMEMBRANCE was written before Him for those who fear the Lord and who esteem His name.” 

Let the words of my mouth – and the meditation of my heart – be acceptable in Thy sight, O God!” (Psalm 19:14)

This entry was posted in Devotional Thoughts, give away. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Two Reminders:

  1. Jedidja says:

    I like your bibleverses! Thank you. An also thanks for your comment on my blog.

  2. Michelle G says:

    I believe with all my heart that when the Bible is read out loud that the Heavens rejoice :)I belive that the word is truly the LIVING word and that bad can not exist in an environment filled with good :)I love to imagine Heaven rejoicing and Evil fleeing the area :)Thank you for reminding us how important THAT BOOK truly is!:)M

  3. Marti says:

    Enjoyed your thoughts on God's book. I am glad that my name is written in the book of life. I want to do what is right, and flee from wrong. Have a blessed day.

Comments are closed.