Happy Homemaker – 1/23/2012

Today I’m linking up w/ Sandra at The Diary of a SAHMom

The weather:::

39 degrees and “overcast” according to weather.com – but I’m seeing some SUNSHINE!  🙂

On my reading pile:::
I’m smack-dab in the middle of Bonhoeffer by Eric Metaxas – Germany and the state of its churches in 1934 at this point.  I think I’ll have to write a review when I’m done – if just for myself.  My Oma and Opa were young people in Germany in 1934 (my Opa was born in 1911 in Frankfurt, Germany and my Oma in 1918 in East Prussia).  I wish they were still alive so we could talk about this time!! 

On my TV:::

For a long time, Miriam watched Disney Junior in the mornings …. but she has ZERO interest in their new OCTONAUTs show, so we’ve switched to Nick – and watching DORA, which is one of the few shows I remember watching with Andrew and Anna so many years ago! 

On the menu for this week:::
ONE DAY SOON I will post this!!!!  Last week I put all my recipes in notebooks and scanned what was feasible to make soon … This week I’m looking thru all the recipes I’ve pinned on Pinterest.  THEN I will menu plan! 

On my to do list:::
I need to soak-and-scrape the border off the wall in my bathroom so we can prep and PAINT some day … I still need to find an ALMOND colored sink to replace the old sink in there (WHY are there only WHITE sinks in my area??!!).

I need to prepare the W2s and 1099s for our church and school staff.  My computer basically does them for me, it is just a matter of TAKING TIME to print out all the copies and sort them and mail them off to the IRS. 

Looking around the house:::

Even after everyone being home all weekend, my house is surprisingly calm and clean … well, don’t look at the cobwebs on the ceiling and dust in the corners.  I am hoping to develop a simple cleaning schedule along with my menu plan – some day.  soon.

From the camera:::
NOTHING RIGHT NOW … but here’s a pic of the sink (and its hardware) that I can’t wait to REPLACE!!!   (you can’t see it in the pic, but there is a flawed spot by the little overflow hole)

  

Something fun to share:::

I have 2 plane tickets TO GERMANY for March!!!!!!  After much contemplation and talking myself down from the mommy-guilt of leaving my girls and husband for 10 days (they will spend this time with my in-laws), I decided to take my 13 year old son to GERMANY over Spring Break – to visit my father, aunt, and several other relatives – and to show him where he was born at an Army hospital in Wuerzburg.  We’ve applied for his passport – and I’m already packing suitcases in my mind … Wow, I’m going to GERMANY!!!!!!  🙂

On my prayer list:::

  • A friend whose father’s funeral is tomorrow (Tues)
  • A blogger whose son starts chemo this week.
  • Guidance for our family, day-by-day, step-by-step – for God to reveal His will clearly for some upcoming decisions
  • My daughter has had a stomach ache off and on for 3 days (she’s back at school today; praying she’s ok); my son has had a low grade fever off and on since Wednesday (he’s back at school today too). 

Bible verse, Devotional:::
For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, said the LORD, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end.

Jeremiah 29:11

This entry was posted in Happy Homemaker. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy Homemaker – 1/23/2012

  1. Praying for you . we both live in Mo so do come over!

  2. Sandra says:

    Oh you HAVE to do that review, I find history so interesting that I think it's something I would really enjoy reading, so please do review it when you're done :)I have to finish our tax return today, we were literally the last branch of service to get the W2's posted LOLHope you have a great week 🙂

  3. I wish I were going to Germany!! That sounds like it will be a fun trip for you and Andrew! My cousins are living in Switzerland until June and we really wanted to go visit them while they were there but I don't think we will be able to make it happen. I'm so glad my mom took over all the farm bookkeeping last year, so I don't have to figure out tax stuff this year! (I suppose I should probably offer to help her though) :)Have a great week!

  4. melanie says:

    SO excited for your March travel plans!!!Hope everyone stays well this week ~The 1099/w-2's are on my To Do List as well — and I got them for FREE from the IRS (Thank you, fellow Taxpayers)

Comments are closed.