When All Else Fails … Go Shopping!

So, today was the fateful day of my blood work (aka triglyceride check).  As I entered the doctor’s office, eating the last piece of my cinnamon-crunch bagel (my recent attempts at low-sugar dieting aren’t working out too well – I have $10 in Panera gift cards to use up!), the receptionist immediately asked me if no one had told me I was supposed to FAST before this bloodwork?  Well, apparently NOT!  In fact, I don’t think I fasted the last time … which she said may explain why my triglyceride numbers didn’t GO DOWN very much at last check!  *sigh*

So, I have another appointment for February 1st. NOTE to SELF:  no driving thru Panera Bread that morning!! 

Since my doctor’s office is located about 60 miles from home, I decided I may as well GO SHOPPING!  🙂  Since Miriam had endured the long drive very nicely, only unbuckling her car seat harness ONCE (another dilemma with this child – she knows how to work the car seat chest harness buckle!!!), I first took her to Pet Smart, and we “talked to the animals”. 

At Marshall’s I bought a wonderful, big suitcase (on mark-down) for our upcoming travels.  I was kind of reminded of George Bailey in It’s a Wonderful Life, seeing his suitcase from Mr. Gower after talking about his dreams for his future travels:

 I’m shakin’ the dust of this crummy little town off my feet and I’m gonna see the world. Italy, Greece, the Parthenon, the Colosseum. Then, I’m comin’ back here to go to college and see what they know. And then I’m gonna build things. I’m gonna build airfields, I’m gonna build skyscrapers a hundred stories high, I’m gonna build bridges a mile long… “

Actually, I’ve been to Italy, Greece, the Parthenon, and the Colosseum … and I spent 4 years in college … but I guess I was kind of thinking more in terms of my own son getting to travel internationally this Spring! 

After a quick lunch, we went to Target.  I had already printed out and planned my coupons for this stop – and while I’m no extreme couponer, I finally got a few things for free or practically FREE!!  Not that they are that exciting – but for me, it is pretty good:

Band-aid coupon – $2 off 2 Band-aid brand items; got 2 $0.97 trial size Bandaid packs for free.  🙂

Bounty coupon – $1 off any Bounty Basics product; got 1 $0.97 roll for free.  🙂

Merona clothes – $3 off any item; found a clearance tshirt for $3.60 and got it for $0.60.  🙂

The rest of my couponing was less spectacular – but never the less I came home with toothbrushes, cleaning products/detergents, razors, and M&Ms ($1 off any M&M product!) among other things.  🙂

And thus I would say our day was successful afterall!  And I’m always up for a good excuse to go up to my doctor’s office again so I can get to this area for more shopping.  😉 

This entry was posted in Random Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to When All Else Fails … Go Shopping!

  1. Mrs. Doug says:

    I just started clipping coupons again. I can't believe how many 1-2 dollar coupons are out there. Guess I'll see where this leads. I don't see myself as a "coupon queen".

  2. Marti says:

    It had to be more fun shopping than having blood drawn, so you scored.

  3. melanie says:

    You'll just have to save Panera for AFTER you visit the doctor 😀 {you'll be hungry!}

Comments are closed.