I Love It When This Happens:

No, I don’t love that my migraines are back with a vengence.  I was just telling someone yesterday I haven’t had one in a while … and if I believed in superstition, I would have regretted not knocking on wood after making that statement because last night I had a HORRIBLE migraine.  Just incredibly painful – non-stop throbbing and blecky nausea to go along with it. 

My husband came in to check on me in the dark, quiet bedroom, and I asked him for some water (dehydration can be the cause of headaches), and I asked him for to pray for me, which he did.  I finally felt better around 2 a.m. and spent a restless night half-awake, half-dreaming, half-thinking-too-much.  I finally caught an hour of sleep just before Miriam woke up for the day.

When I checked my email this morning, my Daily Text had the following verses and prayer for the day (the application of the verses today is what I love):

Monday, January 30
Psalm 18:16-24

Genesis 29:15-30:24; Matthew 11:1-10
O Lord, restore me to health and make me live. Isaiah 38:16

She had heard about Jesus, and came up behind him in the crowd and

touched his cloak, for she said, “If I but touch his clothes, I will be

made well.” He said to her, “Daughter, your faith has made you well.”

Mark 5:27-28,34

God of wellness, we know fear when disease strikes us hard. We seek


cures from doctors and pray for healing. Most of all, we lay our lives


in your hands. Make us whole in spirit and touch our bodies. Amen.

Today I am so thankful to be feeling better … and thankful for the prescription meds I can take to tackle my migraines even thought when I hesitate to take them and my migraines get really bad, it takes them a long time to work.  4 or 5 hours of non-stop pain last night reminded me of the many who go through suffering of pain and chronic illness every day.   I am thankful today to be FEELING WELL and pain free!!

Miriam had her 2 year old well-child check up today with her pediatrician.  She got a wonderful report that she too is healthy and doing great!   And best of all, NO SHOTS today!!  🙂 

This entry was posted in Baby, Devotional Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Love It When This Happens:

  1. Mrs. Doug says:

    I appreciate your testimony. It never will stop amazing me how God speaks to us. He does care for us and longs to talk to us through His Word. All we need to do is read it. I am so glad you are feeling better. I hadn't had a migraine until a couple weeks ago I went in for a colonoscopy 🙂 and the anesthetic triggered a migraine. Thankfully it only lasted one evening, but it was severe. I pray this is not a trend for you and that you will be free of pain.God Bless

  2. Lorie says:

    That is a great devotional, thanks for sharing it. Very appropriate for me as well. My migraines have been acting up too. I also make the mistake of not taking the meds soon enough. Glad you are feeling better today. 🙂

  3. melanie says:

    Gotta love a timely verse of scripture ~Glad you are feeling better too!

Comments are closed.