A Perfect Pet for Peyton – Review & GIVEAWAY



This wonderfully imaginative children’s hardcover book by bestselling authors Gary Chapman and Rick Osborne, featuring four-color illustrations (with hidden details!) by Wilson Williams, Jr., will help children learn the importance of love. Based on Gary’s highly successful The 5 Love Languages®, A Perfect Pet for Peyton tells an entertaining and playful story of five children who each, with the help of Mr. Chapman and the unique pets at his special emporium, discover their own personal love language. Children and parents alike will experience firsthand the power of the love languages as they cuddle up and spend precious time together reading this book over and over again.

FREE interactive APP with in-book experience COMING SOON to the App Store.

MY THOUGHTS:

The book was really well illustrated and had the added fun of having special activities on almost each page (find hidden objects or identify items) which make it more than just another story book.  I also look forward to doing the 5 Love Languages for Kids quiz in the back of the book with my own kids.

My only concern was the story was somewhat unrelatable – at least to my kids and our situation.  Two of the kids in the book get what they want – even after a bout with pouting/having a pity party because they thought they were left out.  I guess that validates the feelings kids often go through, but seldom do my own kids get REWARDED for pouting.  Usually it means they have to wait for the item they wanted or we discuss why they shouldn’t feel sorry for themselves (at least when it come to others getting something they don’t think they will get).  That may seem overly analytical – but that’s how my mind works!  If my kids read this book and see that Peyton gets his “perfect” pet after crying because he thinks he isn’t getting one, they may expect a “perfect” solution to their own wants?

But my over-thinking aside, I guess the point of the story IS that each child has a unique love language – and the purpose of the story is to identify and match the “perfect” pet with each child.   I am looking forward to reading Gary Smalley’s 5 Love Languages of Children, which I will be reviewing on April 9th! 

Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog.  Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255:  “Guidelines Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

WOULD YOU LIKE TO READ A Perfect Pet for Peyton with your children or grandchildren??

I am giving away a copy of A Perfect Pet for Peyton to one of my readers!!

Leave a comment on this blog post – and I will choose a winner on Friday, March 30!  Make sure I can contact you via blogger or leave an email address!  (U.S. addresses and entrants only, please)


This entry was posted in give away, reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Perfect Pet for Peyton – Review & GIVEAWAY

  1. Sara H says:

    Gee, this is easier than my giveaway. 😀 Probably the easiest thing I've ever done for a free book. 😉

  2. Great that you give an honest review! Good for you!We always love books, and I really think it is important for children to be read to at a young age.Blessings,Susie

  3. You know we love new books around here! 🙂 Thanks for the giveaway!

Comments are closed.