Letters I Missed: F & G

I just got back from visiting my in-laws for the last 2 days.  We affectionately call their home “The Land of No Internet Connection” and/or “The No Sports Zone” … My husband suffers as they do not have any ESPN channels … and I have no wireless or any other form of internet connection there.  Although, now that BASEBALL SEASON is underway again, Dan did manage to listen to the game on the radio on Friday, and it was actually on a TV channel that Dan’s parents receive today!! 

Let’s GO, Cardinals!!! 

Due to our temporary vacation out of the ‘net, I’m behind on my A-Z blog posts …
F is for FAMILY
As we spent Friday with our family, I though it appropriate to mention them as my focus
My in-laws live 120 miles away – and we packed up to go visit them yesterday (Friday).  On the way, our little family of 5 was able to stop by a used bookstore (and Dan traded in a ton of used books  for store credit- a whole box worth!! yeah!!), a Goodwill store, and Chick-fil-A for lunch (which if you have read my blog long enough or know me, this IS my fast food “love language”).  My world in Middle-of-No-Where, Missouri might be complete if we had a CFA within 20 miles of us … well, that and a Target and … well, never mind.  We do now have a Kohl’s in our vicinity so things are looking up!  LOL
My family helped my father-in-law wash his motor home and do some things he can’t do himself since having heart surgery several months ago during which the nerves of his diaphragm were severed … So far, his left lung has still not recovered, and he is still not able to take a full breath.  This makes small tasks, especially those involving bending over, very difficult and uncomfortable. 
We did gave a pleasant, low-key visit, and today we just enjoyed some shopping and eating …and I think everyone took a long nap!!  It was really a nice visit with FAMILY. 
G is for GRACE
God’s grace is truly amazing!!  Not only does the Bible tell that “by grace are you saved, through faith …” (Eph. 3:5-6), I experience God’s grace every day!!  It is His grace that carries me through trials, through my sad times, through hurts and disappointments, and it is that grace that draws me right back to Him and His love.  When I think of how gracious God has been to me – me, who doesn’t deserve it – it motivates me to be more gracious to others who (in my opinion) might not deserve any grace either … but they do, if only because God loves them as much as He loves me!   It is a humbling thought that I am often NOT a reflection of the grace of God …
“Grace, grace, God’s grace …
Grace that can pardon and cleanse within.
Grace, grace, God’s grace …
Sin and despair, like the sea waves cold,
threaten the soul with infinite loss;
grace that is greater, yes, grace untold,
points to the refuge,
the mighty cross.”

And that cross is where the Easter story begins … and I’m thankful it ends at the empty tomb!
Happy Easter!


This entry was posted in A-Z, Easter, Family, holiday. Bookmark the permalink.