Letter of the Day: K

I definitely had a lot of time to think about this blog post … I blog in my head sometimes when I can’t sleep – or write my next great novel (actually, that would be my FIRST great novel).  Last night I had from about 2:30 a.m. until 6:30 a.m. to talk to my brain while I listened to my toddler NOT sleep.

I knew I was in trouble when she fell asleep on the way home from our mid-week church service.  She had not had a nap yesterday – and usually when she falls into an exhausted sleep like that, with her clothes on, and a wet diaper, it does not bode well.  Most people would think she’d sleep thru the night – but she usually sleeps a few hours, wakes up MAD, and proceeds to stay up even later than usual.  .

I was prepared for it – and so I was very restless as I waited for awakening … and she didn’t let me down.  She slept fitfully until 2:30 a.m. in the pac-n-play in our room while I tried to catch some sleep on the couch.  I could still hear Miriam from there; she had some major drainage and was coughing and sucking in snot and sneezing off and on.  She was mad as a wet hen when she fully woke up, probably because she was wet as a wet hen.  Cheap Walmart brand diapers are SO NOT worth it, people (this is my first -and only – package of them I’ve bought)!!!  Huggies or Pampers or even Target diapers would not have leaked like this diaper did – it was almost like she didn’t have one on.  😦

So, my husband and I traded places.  He tried to sleep on the couch while I cleaned and calmed Miriam and put her in our bed (I hate co-sleeping, btw – does NOT work well for our family at all – I need my space!!).  But there was really no where else for her to go … her pac-n-play was wet, Anna wasn’t feeling well and I didn’t want to put her back in her crib … and so, Miraim laid by me for the rest of the night.  Laid is an understatement … she dozed fitfully, called my name, sucked in more snot, sneezed randomly, asked me to wipe her nose (she actually ASKS me to!), and would reach her little hand over to play with my hair or would search for my hand to hold in the darkness and would pat me and quietly “talk” to me about elephants and black and green and Penny (our dog) and the slide and call her friends’ names. 

My relief came around 6 a.m. when Dan and Andrew got up to get ready for school (Anna’s not feeling well so she stayed home, asleep in bed).  They entertained Miriam who crawled out of bed as soon as she heard them up.  They put in a Curious George DVD for her because when I finally woke up in a haze around 8, Miriam was asleep, wrapped in a blanket … on the living room floor … with George looping through the tv screen.

And so K is for KNACKERED … in German, that’s KAPUTT … broken down, exhausted of strength, and just plain worn out.  That’s my word of the day. 

 

This entry was posted in A-Z, MiMi. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Letter of the Day: K

  1. I love the way you tell this story! And I am very pleased to be passed those times, but remember them well! Kaputt! Great K word!Blessings,Susie

  2. April says:

    Sorry you had such a rough night, Conny! I'm tuckered out just reading about it! Hope you're able to get some rest tonight!

  3. melanie says:

    Somehow methinks you need to read this post {and yesterday's too}http://rachelmariemartin.blogspot.com/2012/04/thank-you-moms.htmlWishing you both sweeter, longer dreams tonight!

Comments are closed.