Happy Homemaker – 4/16/2012

Joining Sandra today:

The weather:::
After rain storms yesterday and being under a tornado warning until midnight, we woke up to SUNSHINE today!!  It is currently 55 degrees outside – the yard actually looks green after being well watered yesterday! 

On my reading pile::: 

A random book I picked up at a thrift shop called MARTIN LUTHER HAD A WIFE.  It is full of biographical snippets of Christians throughout the centuries and their marriages. 

I love some of Martin Luther’s quotes on marriage to include:
“Of course, the Christian should love his wife.  He is supposed to love his neighbor, and since his wife is his nearest neighbor, she should be his deepest love.  And she should also be his dearest friend.”
and
“Let the wife make her husband glad to come home, and let him make her sorry to see him leave.”

On my TV:::
Disney Junior is making background noise … Miriam is in the kitchen “washing the dishes” … I let the water trickle and she “washes” her cups and whatever plastic items are sitting by the sink.  Sometimes that makes a mess … but it keeps her occupied for a while. 

On the menu for this week:::
Monday –  meatloaf
Tuesday – lasagna (helping feed the kids who are in a play at school/church – dress rehearsal night!)
Wednesday – whatever they offer at church (play performance night!)
Thursday – eating leftovers at school/church (a second play performance night)
Friday – I am running away with a friend, so no doubt we’ll find something yummy to eat in the BIG CITY!!  🙂  My family will have to fend for themselves, which probably means McDonalds. 
Saturday – will definitely have to make a real meal for my family with all the fixin’s … still not sure what it will be – but probably a casserole or roast or such like.

On my to do list:::

Well, most nights this week will be consumed with the play that my son and others in the junior high and high school are in … My son has ONE LINE … but he gets to wear a uniform which he is excited about.  I think he also helps backstage with props and such since he really won’t actually be on stage much at all. 
During the days I want to work on my bathroom renovation – over the weekend, I stripped the wall paper border.  Once I got to reading up on bathroom renovation, I’ve been considering a new toilet (need a more efficient one!!) and vinyl flooring along with painting the walls.  Hmmmmmmmmmmmmm…….
I also want to do some “spring cleaning”.
Looking around the house:::
It isn’t too bad.  Saturday night I couldn’t sleep, so I cleaned my bathroom up and sorted and straightened until 2 a.m.  I am ever fighting with the stacks and piles of STUFF that shift from my dining room table to the spare chair to my desk and back to the dining room table.  I have got to figure out a filing-put/away system!!! 

From the camera:::

not from my camera – but from a blog: 

I just won this necklace from Angie’s Ad Lib blog!!! 
I can’t wait to see it in real life!!!!
The necklace is from Angie’s friend’s etsy shop – you can see more jewelry at TraceyJolleyDesigns

Something fun to share:::

I am not much fun these days … so there isn’t much to share!!  :-/

On my prayer list:::

Supposedly a selection board is meeting THIS WEEK to decide if they will accept my husband into the Army Reserves.  The application process has been going on since October 2011 – and actually since January when an acquaintance of Dan somehow connected a recruiter to Dan … and she contacted him to see if he was interested in joining to finish out his military career.  Somehow I think this whole Army Reserves thing is meant to be … but if it doesn’t work out, at least my husband has started down a path to better health as he has lost quite a bit of weight to meet Army requirements, and he has started jogging 3 mornings a week. 

Bible verse, Devotional:::

This entry was posted in Happy Homemaker. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy Homemaker – 4/16/2012

  1. Congratulations for the jewelry! The book Martin Luther Had a Wife sounds like a really good read. I love the Quotes!Blessings,Susie

  2. Andrea says:

    I have a migrating pile of stuff too! My office is too cluttered to do anything in so my pile moves from the table to the counter to the chair and back.

  3. April says:

    Hi Conny!Love that pretty necklace you won! Congrats! I'll say a prayer that your hubby gets accepted into the Army Reserves…and good for him with losing some weight and getting in better shape. That's great! Enjoy your Monday!

  4. Marti says:

    You sure have a busy week ahead. Have a good day.

Comments are closed.