HodgePodge – 4/25/2012

Joining Joyce & Friends for HodgePodge:

1. William Shakespeare’s birthday is celebrated on April 23rd…when did you last read Shakespeare? What’s your favorite Shakespeare play?
I gave up on Wm. Shakespeare after reading JULIUS CESAER in 12th grade.  

2. What food(s) would you recommend a foreign visitor try when they visit your home country?
a perfect steak and a loaded baked potato.

3. What’s a lie you often tell yourself?
That I am not adequate … because God has promised that I can do ALL THINGS thru Christ!!  (Phil. 4:13)

4. What’s something you’re good at that might surprise us? Remember this is a family friendly blog!
 I’m obviously NOT good at home improvements (if you read my blog entry yesterday:  V is for Vent) … I’m trying to think about what I’m good at … and so far, not much is coming to me …
I am surprisingly good at organizing things – especially paperwork related things – which would surprise you for as much as I talk about what a DISorganized mess my house tends to be.  That has a lot to do with a certain 2 year old though.  Given QUIET and ALONE time for a few hours, I can straighten any mess up very well. 
5. Who is your favorite animal character from a book?
Fantastic Mr. Fox by Roald Dahl ~ loved him since 3rd grade ……… My Oma got me the book.

6. April showers bring May flowers…do you have a green thumb?
I wish I did … I can plant little things – like the petunias that are waiting for me to plant on the front porch.  I have tried for years and years – and in countries and states we have lived in to grow tomatoes (because my kids LOVE tomatoes) and they just won’t grow for me. 

7. Speaking of rainy days…which one of the following activities would you most want to spend time doing on a rainy day-
sort photos and create albums
bake cookies
read a good book
hold an all-day movie marathon
organize closets, cupboards, or bookshelves
try a new recipe
fix something that needs fixing
You forgot TAKE A NAP!
Othewise, I love cookies and a good book.
8. Insert your own random thought here.

Has your life ever been at a complete STAND STILL?  As in there is NOTHING you can do about the situation you are in except wait, pray, and anticipate the 1,238 varieties of solutions tomorrow may bring??  When you have done all you can and have no control over the outcome?!!  That is kind of where my family is right now.  We have 3 major, life-changing events set in motion – potentially good changes for us, exciting opportunities … but we can’t know the results of any of them until May or beyond!!  This means that when anyone asks me about June or July, I honestly have no idea what we’ll be doing so I can’t commit to anything or plan anything.

In a year from now, I know I’ll be able to look back at April of 2012 and see God’s Hand clearly at work … but for right now, I’m feeling just a little STUCK, in a holding pattern.  I know that I can waste the next few days or weeks worrying or contemplating too much about the future instead of focusing on the EVERY DAY blessings that continue to happen right before me:  a sunshiney day to take Miriam to the park and watch her swing with pure joy, to see my son in a school play or band performance, to admire Anna’s scrapbook that she is working on right now and admire her creativity, to talk to my husband and realize all over again how much I love and respect him.  

I have a little reminder posted in our bedroom that says – “Don’t worry about the future, God is already there.”

This entry was posted in Hodge Podge. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to HodgePodge – 4/25/2012

  1. I believe that there are times when God lets us have time to learn to quit squirming. To learn what it is to rest in Him and be silent. Learning to live in the moment, in the present, to let go of yesterday, and not worry about tomorrow. I like the reminder in your bedroom, "Don't worry about the future, God is already there."Blessings,Susie

  2. Mrs. Doug says:

    I absolutely know where you're at. Actually we're all in that position if you think about it. I like to plan, but God's still in control and if He chooses to change my plans which He often does I need to be flexible enough to go with the "new" plan which really wasn't new at all, just new to me :)If God wills, we'll do such and such… I'll be in prayer that you'll have some answers soon, but in the meantime… God knows best. I don't really have to tell you this, but it's good to encourage each other.God bless.

  3. Ellie Rae says:

    I should do one of these. Speaking of holding patterns, we are in one with our younger son.

  4. Ellie Rae says:

    Conny, for German blogs, go here:http://heidegeist.blogspot.com/ I follow hers, and on her sidebar, she has many other German blogs listed that you can click on. I also like "Silber und Rosen" blogspot.

  5. April says:

    Conny,As you recall, my husband was out of work for 11 very LONG months, so we, too, were in a bit of a holdiing pattern. However, all the while, we knew that God will in control and that He would pull us through, which He did! Don't lose faith! Love your answer for #3!

  6. My Kid's Mom says:

    Love the sign in your bedroom! How true.

  7. Joyce says:

    I do know that feeling…it has almost always been connected to a potential move in our case. Hope everything comes together as you are hoping!

  8. Marla says:

    I have lived in limbo for months at a time. Basically, we were waiting to hear about a job opportunity in another location. It's hard to volunteer for things in the future when you don't know where you will be! I hope your "stuck time" doesn't go on too long. Good luck!

Comments are closed.