Hodge Podge – 5/2/2012

How do I know time flies … When I just linked to Joyce’s HodgePodge and suddenly, here it is AGAIN!!  🙂

1. My daughter2 is graduating from university this month and plans to teach elementary school. What are three qualities you most want to see evidenced in a teacher?

)1)cares about each student individually and adapts to each as possible (harder to do when you have a large class); students aren’t cookie cutters!! – (2) gets to know each student’s strengths and weaknesses – and (3)seeks to help every student SUCCEED (you’d be surprised at the experiences I’ve had hearing a teacher talking about a “stupid” student and saying he/she will never make it anyway – I truly believe that shows FAILURE on the teacher’s part!! ::: stepping off soapbox::::). 
2. You can tell a lot about a person by_____________________.
the way they look into or avoid your eyes as they talk to you …
3. What song makes you think spring?
Walkin’ on Sunshine by Bread
4. May 1st is Mother Goose Day…share your favorite nursery rhyme.
Old Mother Hubbard cracks me up … especially the old, non-politically-correct version where she has had it with all her children – and “spanks them all soundly and sends them to bed.”   There are those days ….
5. What makes someone unforgettable?
obviously their actions … some people because of their incredible cruelty which hurts my heart every time my memory is triggered to remember them BUT other people because of their incredible acts of kindness that touch my heart so deeply that it rejoices every time I think of that person. 
6. Should music and/or art be part of a well rounded education?
Definitely every child should have a chance at a foundation of music and art.  Later, if the child finds they have no interest or talent for music or art, they should not be forced to participate – but again, I think every student should be exposed to good music and art! 
7. What social situations make you flustered or nervous?
ummm, probably ALL OF THEM!  I really don’t like any social situation except maybe a party with my closest friends.  I force myself to participate because I don’t want to be labeled as stuck-up or non-social … but my innermost introvert would just as soon avoid all social situations where I have to walk into a room of strangers or just a room of uncertainty – like “where will I sit”, “who else will be there”, “will I be over/under dressed”, “what am I going to talk about”, and the worst scenario of all – “will my nervousness and my attempts to be social totally embarrass me … again”???? 

As a former Army wife, social situations were a part of my life for many years, but I never got used to them … even now, simple church functions usually require me to a take a big gulp before I actually walk into the room …

8. Insert your own random thought here.
Speaking of me being a former Army wife … I am one waiver away from being a current Army Reservist’s wife.  Nothing is set in stone until we’ve signed the paperwork and my husband has been officially re-commissioned … but we are :::this close::: to being associated with the military again for the next 5+ years!!!!!  🙂  I’m so proud of my husband for determining to finish out his career with the military – for the sake of our family and benefits and our future and continuing to serve our great country – as well as losing 25+ lbs so far and running again 3 mornings a week to get back “in shape” …
Hopefully I’m not getting my hopes up for nothing … but the recruiter is already saying things like, “WHEN you get to your new unit ….” so she sounds pretty positive too!!  🙂

This entry was posted in Hodge Podge. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Hodge Podge – 5/2/2012

  1. Theresa says:

    Good point on art and music- that would be great for me since those are not my gifts 🙂

  2. Janyce says:

    I love your answer to #1. So, so true!Your husband sounds like a wonderful man. He certainly is giving it his all.Have a nice evening. 🙂

  3. EmptyNester says:

    I am so very much like you on the social settings. Given a choice, I'll stay home every time!

  4. sterlingsop says:

    I'm hopping over from Joyce's Hodgepodge and wanted to say I really enjoyed reading your answers this week. Your excitement about your husband's placement is palpable, even across 3000 miles of the Atlantic!! Fingers crossed for you 🙂

  5. Mrs. Doug says:

    Hi, just linking up to Hodge Podge. Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us!

  6. Well, a big Thank You to your husband and you for being willing to serve again…our son is a active reservist and has done tours in the sand pit…I don't think age factors into the deployment. I'm proud of him, he's stateside now and about to move to a new location.Have a blessed day,Mama Bear

  7. collettakay says:

    My first thought was Old Mother Hubbard 🙂 heheI hope all goes as planned for you and your family.Colletta

  8. April says:

    So happy to hear that it sounds like your husband's placement with the Army is going to pan out, afterall! Social situations don't come very easily to me, either…unless I know everyone in the room.

Comments are closed.