The Forgiven Duke – Review & Giveaway

So, in March I read and reviewed Jamie Carie’s book THE GUARDIAN DUKE. 

In July of 2012, the sequel, THE FORGIVEN DUKE will be coming out!

Tethered by her impulsive promise to marry Lord John Lemon, the path of least resistance, Alexandria Featherstone sets off toward Iceland in search of her parents with a leaden heart.  A glimpse of her guardian, the Duke of Easton, the path less traveled by, on Dublin’s shore still haunts her.

Will he come after her?  Will he drag her back to London, quelling her mission to rescue her treasure-seeking parents, or might he decide to throw caution to the wind and choose Foy Pour Devoir:  “Faith for Duty,” the Easton’s motto.  The Featherstone motto is “Willing and Able” and beats in Alex’s heart and thrums through her veins.  She will find her parents and find their love, no matter the cost. 

The power yet wing-clipped Duke of Easton has never known the challenge that has become his life since hearing his ward’s name.  Alexandria Featherstone will be the life or the death of him.  Only time and God’s plan will reveal just how much this man can endure for the prize of love. 

You can find out more about author Jamie Carie and all her books at her website.

MY thoughts:

Maybe it is my place in life right now (kind of bogged down by reality) … or my age (old) … or just my lack of imagination, but I couldn’t get into this book.  I am sure many though would find it adventurous and exciting.  The plot is interesting enough – I am currently just not a fan of characters who are strong-willed and have minor characters fawning all over themselves to serve them.  In this book, I am liking the main character Alexandria Featherstone less and less.  She calls herself a Christian and yet she forges on head-strong, making all kinds of decisions that in my opinion a Christian ought not to make – like agreeing to marry Lord Lemon without first finding out if he is a man of the same faith. 

There is also a twist in the plot that while handled delicately enough, I wouldn’t let my pre-teen or teen daughter read about because it causes too many questions about subjects that are somewhat “adult”. 

So, it was an okay read … I will admit I skimmed some of the book.  It is nice “mindless” reading, and I realize that fiction is sometimes supposed to just be somewhat unbelievable and unrelatable to real life.  It should be an escape from reality … and that, THE FORGIVEN DUKE is. 

Would you like to read this book yourself in order to form your own opinion??  

I am giving away a copy of this book on Sunday, May 6, 2012 (US entrants only, please).

To enter:  leave a comment on this post, letting me know you’d like to be entered in the drawing … make sure I can contact you via blogger or leave an email address!

For a second entry:  “like” the Forgotten Castle series on facebook – come back and let me know you did.

Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received this product mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog.  Regardless, I only recommend products that I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the FTC 16 CFR, Part 255,  “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

This entry was posted in books, give away, reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Forgiven Duke – Review & Giveaway

  1. Conny, I just love your so honest opinions! It might be a fun read, and yes an escape.Blessings,Susie

  2. Renee says:

    thanks for the book giveaway.ReneeSuz82(at)gmail.comI have a book giveaway at my blog: http://reneesuz.blogspot.com/2012/04/need-you-now-giveaway.html

Comments are closed.