Hodge Podge – 5/23/2012

Joining Joyce and Friends for Hodge Podge Wednesday:

1. What’s something you miss about the 1980’s? If you’re too young to miss the 80’s how about the 90’s?

I was a teenager and young adult of the 1980’s … Not much I miss about those days other than I miss aspects of my life during that time – the carefree days of dreaming about the future in an almost fairy tale like manner and having freedoms that come with not having the responsibilities of marriage and children … but I wouldn’t go back.  I never had a perm that turned out like I wanted; I hated hot-rolling my hair every day to get it “big” enough!; I don’t look really good in neon or aqua or peach (the colors that seemed to be “in”); and my 1981 rust-orange Oldsmobile Omega was not something that impressed the boys!! 

2. Do you have a library card? If so, how often do you visit?
I do have a library card – and there was a time that my husband took our kids to the library almost every Saturday … I guess life just got in the way and now we seldom go to the library at all.  😦
3. What’s the secret to success?
Joshua 1:8 (the Bible) :
This Book of the Law shall not depart from your mouth, but you shall meditate on it day and night, so that you may be careful to do according to all that is written in it. For then you will make your way prosperous, and then you will have good success.
4. This is National Backyard Games week…what’s your favorite backyard game?
badminton
5. If I dropped by today what would I find on your coffee table?
Nothing if I just cleaned up or a variety of Miriam’s toys if I haven’t.
6. Do you own a bicycle? When was the last time you rode a bicycle? Is that something you enjoy?
No, I don’t own a bike.  Speaking of the 1980s, I rode my bike A LOT when I lived at home – and even more when I visited my German grandparents or my parents, who were stationed for 3 years in Germany in the late 1980’s/early 1990’s. 
7. What’s your favorite cheese?
German butter cheese 
8. Insert your own random thought here.

May in Missouri this year has been such a glorious month, weather-wise … I love not having to run the a/c during the day (though we’ve had a few days where we had to).  I love the evenings when we take Miriam to the park to play or I sit on the front porch and enjoy the warm evening while the kids play in the yard.  Today we got the hose out and it was perfect weather for splashing in it just a little bit without getting too cold. 
That said, I’m so ready for JUNE because school will be out, and I am excited about what God has in store for my family! 

This entry was posted in Hodge Podge. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Hodge Podge – 5/23/2012

  1. Rebecca D says:

    We are finally (just in the last two weeks) having some nice spring weather here in Maine… It really helps my moods and outlook!

  2. Theresa says:

    I forgot about the 80s home perms! I've never had German butter cheese but it sounds delish!

  3. Cherie says:

    Hey badminton was my game of choice too. Doesn't take up too much space, and it seems like there are less injuries.

  4. My Kid's Mom says:

    The weather has been great here too, although I could use some rain on my garden.

  5. Bobbi says:

    Oooo….I love badminton…I used to be really good at that in gym class way back when. I'd totally forgotten about that! Have a wonderful Hodgepodge Wednesday!

  6. Marla says:

    I had some really bad perms back in the 80's too. What were we thinking? ha!

  7. Joyce says:

    We've had some wonderful spring weather this year too. It actually has felt like spring. Its rained since Monday but we needed it and its been a nice gentle spring rain so not too bad. I wouldn't want to go back either but I did love my hot rollers : )

  8. April says:

    The 80's, for me, were such a fun decade! I laughed when I read your comment about perms and hot rollers…that was me to a tee! I got body perms back then and they'd fry my hair and often turn it orange in the summer…not a good look! I simply couldn't have survived without my hot rollers, either…it was the only way to go!

  9. Godsgalnj says:

    Love badminton 🙂 Such a great game =) And wow! visiting the library every Saturday! Is it a fairly big library?

  10. Ooh – great verse!!! Loved your Hodgepodge answers! have a great day!!

Comments are closed.