Memorial Day Weekend 2012

I am so thankful for a holiday weekend … as much as I am thankful for those who made it possible.  We remember!! 
Today was a much needed day of rest and relaxation for our family.  Sometimes you don’t realize how much the stress has built up or how much you need to let go of that breath you’ve been holding …

I did get to sleep in today … but rewarded my family for this luxury by making them blueberry pancakes with blueberry syrup, bacon, and eggs for brunch.  After which, I decided to read my book in my bed for a while … after which I promptly fell asleep again for another 1 1/2 hours!  (which explains why I am wide awake now at 1:40 a.m.!).

After napping, we had a discussion about what to we wanted to do this weekend … and decided today was going to just be a day of nothingness.  I think everyone was happy with that! 

Inspired by a Wendy’s commercial on TV, I made my family chili cheese fries for supper.  I made the fries from cut up potatoes, coated with just a little oil, seasoned with Lawry’s salt and baked at 450 degrees for 45 minutes.  Meanwhile, I cooked up some quick chili with just a packet of seasoning, a pound of ground beef, a can of undrained kidney beans, and a can of undrained diced tomatoes.  Shredded cheddar and sour cream … and onions for my hubby … as toppings.  I baked some all-American chocolate chip cookies for dessert.

M3 River May 2012

Then the kids were ready to get out and play, so I took them to a nearby park with river access.  While we fully intended to just wade and throw rocks into the river, the near 90 degree temperature and slow flow of the river drew the kids in deeper, and a water fight ensued!  I should have known!  After almost 2 hours, I took some wet but happy kids home to dry off.

PicMonkey Collage

Happy Memorial Day Weekend!
e020b13a2c8908bb24a336f33244a14e

This entry was posted in Family, holiday. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Memorial Day Weekend 2012

  1. What a cute porch! Now, I just have to say that I'm chuckling over the chili cheese fries (which I adore), having just read your entry before the last Wednesday supper at your church. You know, where you were starting a diet? ;P

Comments are closed.