HodgePodge – 5/30/2012

Joining Joyce for Hodge Podge Wednesday:

1. What can the average citizen do to honor a military veteran and/or those currently serving?

I think just being there, being interested, and lastly, being positive are helpful!  Not so much for those who are veterans, but when I was the wife of a deployed soldier, for a year from 2003-04, sometimes my civilian friends would say things like, “this must be so hard … I don’t think I could do that … and your poor children … I just couldnt’ do that. to mine ” 
Well, believe it or not, you can do a lot of things you never thought you could do when faced with the situation; and my then 2 and 4 year old children survived as well.  I much preferred to be with friends who asked how my husband was doing, how I was doing, who offered to watch my kids, or who just were there when I needed company. 

2. Besides a flag what is something you own that is red, white and blue?
I think I’d have to walk through my house to look for something … I think I still have a scarf I once bought that has American flags on it!!  Otherwise, not much else I can find.  While I think it is lovely to have on a flag, the red, white, blue combo isn’t my favorite and doesn’t match anything much that I own or wear. 

3. Does love really conquer all?
Human love?  Probably not …  I think it has limits though we move those limits, depending on how much we love someone. 

4. Strawberry shortcake or blueberry pie?
I like both … but if I have to choose, then strawberry shortcake.

5. Do you share personal stuff with your hairdresser?
Actually, I do – though I try to be discreet!  I’ve been going to the same lady for years now – and she’s been with me through lots of situations and a pregnancy and knows our community well so we know a lot of people in common. 

6. Does money lead to selfishness?
It doesn’t have to … I think that depends on the person. 
7. What piece of furniture in your home most needs replacing or refinishing?
Our couch and love seat are starting to sag and needs an overall cleaning of the upholstery beyond just spot cleaning … but right now I’d give my eye teeth to have a new mattress that doesn’t make my back hurt! 

8. Insert your own random here.
As my oldest 2 kids and husband (who has taught at their Christian school for 7 years) finish up this school year, I am thankful for this school where they have all attended and worked (and I worked as well until I had Miriam) since our kids started school … It is bittersweet that our time there is now almost over, and my husband is hoping to work in hospital administration again instead of school administration in the (near) future.  We are still waiting to hear from the job he interviewed for on May 18 (they told us it would be 2-3 weeks before they made a decision) and meanwhile finishing this school year on June 1 (Friday).

Ecclesiastes 7:8 has come to my mind often this week already:
Better is the end of a thing (or a matter) than the beginning thereof, and the patient in spirit is better than the proud in spirit. 

It all seems to apply to us this week:  we are trying to finish this school year well – and we are humbled before a God who we believe can open or close the doors of opportunity for our future. 

This entry was posted in Hodge Podge. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to HodgePodge – 5/30/2012

  1. Rebecca D says:

    I finally got a new sofa last summer after deciding we needed a new one SIX YEARS AGO… Yes, my sofa was old and needing replacement for six years… I am glad we got one when we did… Now with both daughters engaged I am sure it would be still on the "hold" list!

  2. Thanks to your husband who has served, and also to your family! I know, as a military wife, that it is not only our spouse that serves, but the whole family!Hopping by from my Hodge Podge!

  3. April says:

    Waiting is always the hardest part, isn't it? Praying you get good news soon!

  4. Sandra says:

    Couldn't agree more on the military support from civilians :)Hope you're having a good week.

  5. Mary says:

    Visiting from Joyce's! Good luck to your husband on the job.

  6. Rebecca D says:

    New beginnings can be nerve wracking… Good job keeping your perspective.

  7. Rebecca D says:

    New beginnings can be nerve wracking… Good job keeping your perspective.

  8. Joyce says:

    "we move the limits…' so true!Hope you hear good news regarding the job!

  9. Zoanna says:

    Thanks for the words of wisdom to civilians who want to support military families. And I like the Eccl verse. Our school year ends June 5th. Can't believe it's gone by so fast.

Comments are closed.