Hodge Podge – 6/13/2012

Joining Joyce and Friends for HodgePodge Wednesday:
1. In what way are you your own worst enemy?
oh my … in my self-talk, I’d say.  I can talk myself into self-pity or negativity or make myself crazy about a situation better than anyone I know … that’s why I’m so thankful for my husband who is my balance and my stability – and the sunshine that breaks through my rain clouds.

2. Jacques Cousteau’s birthday was Monday, June 11th…ever been scuba diving? Is that something you’d like to try? What’s your favorite ‘under the sea’ creature?
I used to watch Jacques Cousteau’s specials on TV when I was a child … but I’ve never been scuba diving.  I really don’t have a lot of ambitions to do a lot of crazy things – not that I am scared – I just don’t really care – but I guess I’d like to go down a HUGE and HIGH zip line some day!!!

My favorite under the sea creature is probably the seahorse – so pretty!!

3. On a scale of 1-10, how comfortable are you in and around the water? (1=not at all, 10=very) Do you know how to swim and if so how and when did you learn?
I’d say 9 … I can swim well enough, and I like to dive off diving boards and such.  I started swimming lessons at age 4 and probably took them for 2 or 3 summers there after.  I just learned at the local public pool.  I often regret that I never made time to take my kids to swim lessons – they have just taught themselves how to swim – with a little help from me.

4. What’s something you do to motivate yourself to tick an item off your to-do list?
I prefer to work first and then relax … so if I check off things on my to-do list, I treat myself with either internet time or reading a book.

5. What makes a good neighbor? Are you a good neighbor?
I used to be a better neighbor.  For 3 years we lived on an Army post in a duplex.  I lived among families with children of my own kids’ ages.  We babysat each other’s kids and sat outside together on summer evenings and invited each other over for birthdays and borrowed sugar and eggs from each other.  I had so many sets of neighbors come and go in those 3 years – but I knew almost all of them.

Now that we live in a single family house in a subdivision, I really only know 2 of my neighbors – and only because they introduced themselves to me.  My across-the-street neighbor is a Christian of the same persuation as us – and we have talked a lot more than the other neighbors, and I’ve attended church with her as her son is trying to start a church in a near-by town. 

6. Who loads the dishwasher at your house? Is there a right way and a wrong way?
I load the dishwasher!!  I can’t stand how anyone else in my house does it because YES, there is a right way to do it!

My daughter Anna is the un-loader … and Miriam loves to help her.  In 6 or 7 years, it will be her job anyway.  πŸ™‚

7. You know it’s summer when_________________________.
the water in the pool is just the right temperture for an adult!  The kids will get in when it is still fresh and frigid. 

8. Insert your own random thought here.

oh dear … right now, I can’t do it.  My random is just too random these days!!  I am enjoying the summer with my kids home with me … but otherwise, I am just a little empty right now.  😦

This entry was posted in Hodge Podge. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Hodge Podge – 6/13/2012

  1. Joyce says:

    This is the first place we've lived where we don't know some of the neighbors. My one next door neighbor and I are friends. We've been in a bible study together the past two years. The people on the other side I might not recognize if they walked up to me. I don't know if zip lining is on my list but I'm sure my family will talk me into it one day : )

  2. #1 – I think we all struggle with that self-talk!Zip-lining – you go, girl! You can have my turn. LOL

  3. April says:

    Zip lining is definitely on my "must do" list! We had the chance to do so in Labadee, Haiti last summer, but opted not to because it cost $80 pp for about a 40 sec. ride.

  4. My Kid's Mom says:

    I wish I have some neighbors that were closer to my age. I have an older couple across the street and kids on the other side of me.

  5. I hate to do dishes…loathe it, actually, so my big girls take turns doing them after dinner every day except Saturday–my day. I hate the way one of them loads the dishwasher, but hey…it's better than doing it myself! I hope you find some sunshine this summer and a reason to smile! Thanks for all of your comments and encouragement!

  6. hahaha! Your #7 made me laugh! I am such a baby when it comes to water temperature! Loved all of your answers! Have a wonderful day!

  7. Mary says:

    Isn't it amazing how our mind can talk us into/out of things?

  8. Godsgalnj says:

    Working first – relaxin later – I need to learn to do that! Enjoy your summer with your kids πŸ™‚

  9. Cherie says:

    Ah yes, the proper pool temperature. So true, but the memory of the carefree days of youth and just jumping in regardless of how cold. Whee! Refreshing! It's amazing how time improves the memory of past events. lol

  10. Zoanna says:

    I admire the military way of just jumping in to make friends and neighbors. I wish everyone would live that way. The world would be a happier place with all that hospitality and sharing of lives.

Comments are closed.