Happy Homemaker Monday – 7/16/2012


Joining Sandra today ( a little late ) for HHM:

The Weather:::Actually a very comfortable 89 degrees (compred to 100+ earlier this month!)
On my tv:::
The next-to-last FoodNetwork Star show was on Sunday evening … We voted for
Yvan (Family Style) even though I like both Marti (but the party thing has already been done by Sandra Lee) and Justin (super entertaining but nothing I’d ever do/cook myself, probably).  Wasn’t crazy about Michelle – but I’m also not really into New England (although I’d love to VISIT some day …):

On my reading pile:::
Finally dove into INTROVERTS IN THE CHURCH by Adam McHugh with my hi-lighter in hand – having decided to emphasize the passages that speak to me or apply to me — and I’ve could have hi-lighted almost EVERY WORD!!!!  Oh my – finally someone in ministy who is LIKE ME (I wish I had read this book 7 or 8 years ago when we first got into ministry instead of now that we are leaving it behind)!  This book will require its own blog post from me because I am not only relating to this book so much but I’m learning so much how I can survive in an extroverted culture without feeling guilty for being introverted and not kill myself in the process.  🙂 
I believe I first heard of this book from Brenda (I think!) – so if she ever reads my blog, THANK YOU!!!!! 

On the menu for this week:::
It’s just me, Andrew, and Miriam this week as Dan and Anna are away at camp.  Once again, not cooking much of anything big …
On my to do list:::
I actually already accomplished the biggest item on the list which was ORDERING HOME SCHOOL MATERIAL!!  🙂   No turning back now!! 
I also need to list a few things on bookoo, amazon, or ebay this week that I’d love to sell.
I’m home this week with Andrew, who is my worker and organizer – maybe he and I can do some more clean-sweeping … I really need to sort/clean out my garage but that will depend on the weather.   
Homemaking Tips:::
I’ve been sending kids (and my husband) off to summer church camps the last 2 weeks.  I gather samples of toothpaste, shampoo, body wash, and even sunscreen all year long (when I have coupons to use that apply to samples or get free ones) – and keep them in a basket to use for camp season and traveling – and even put them out when we have visitors (which is seldom).  I’m sure that nothing too genius and many do it – but I am reminded how helpful it is!!
Looking around the house:::
Miriam is watching George … Curious George.  Andrew has a little friend over whom we are watching for the day, and they are happily playing Wii. 
The kitties are napping, Cinder staying ever close to her sister, Ella (who we think is very ill right now; long story – we’ve taken her to the vet but for now we’re just watching to see how it goes.) …

From the camera:::
Cinder+Ella

On my prayer list:::

My husband and daughter Anna and the other kids from our church who are at Junior Camp this week.  Physically that they will not get heat stroke (tomorrow’s heat index is supposed to be 111 degrees!!!!) and spiritually that they will have open hearts to what God has for them to learn there.

My husband’s job situation (we have about 12 applications out now – near and far – for various jobs he might enjoy/be qualified for … praying the right job will open up soon!); he is also needing to begin a certification course towards becoming a Registered Health Information Administrator … thankfully, that can be done mostly on-line and shouldnt’ take more than 6 months.  

Bible verse, Devotional:::
Ephesians 3:20-21
Now to him who is able to do far more abundantly than all that we ask or think, according to the power at work within us,
to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, forever and ever. Amen.

Conny

This entry was posted in Happy Homemaker. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Homemaker Monday – 7/16/2012

  1. Rebecca D says:

    Oh come on… Michelle's restaurant is in the next town over from us… I bank around the corner from it… You could have thrown her a vote! :)Kidding… I didn't even vote… How horrible am I?

  2. Sandra says:

    Yep, no turning back now. It's scary at first, I was so terrified when I took the plunge to homeschool LOL But so glad we did, we love it 🙂

Comments are closed.