Recipe: Old World Dinner

Today at our church’s Missions Conference, it is international meal night.
I was tempted to bring enchiladas or lasagna as those are easy crowd pleasers, but I *am* afterall German!!  My kids wanted schnitzel, but I can’t afford that much meat for that many people …
and thus my friend Melanie came to the rescue with a recipe for an
Old World Sauerkraut Dinner
3 strips of bacon
2 small potatoes (I used more – but they were those small, golden potatoes; I always called them “salad” potatoes), cubed
2 small apples (I used a gala – and just one), cored and cubed
2 lbs. bratwurst or polish sausage, cut into pieces
3 tsp brown sugar
1 1/2 tsp flour
2 cans 27-oz. sauerkraut
1/2 cup water (or chicken broth or I just threw a chicken builloin cube in)
Fry bacon and sausage in a large frying pan.  Drain the grease. 
Add flour to pan and blend into the drippings.
Then stir in the sauerkraut; and I went ahead and mixed in the apple pieces and potatoes.

Put all the ingredients in the crockpot – add the brown sugar and water or broth.
Mix well.   
Cook on low for 7-9 hours or high for 3-4 hours.
GUTEN APPETIT!
Conny
This entry was posted in recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Recipe: Old World Dinner

  1. Oh, Connie, this looks good! Thanks,Susie

  2. Ellie Rae says:

    Gee, that sounds delicious! And German!

Comments are closed.