Hodge Podge – 8/1/2012

Joining Joyce for Wednesday Hodgepodge:

1. I’m joining my daughter1 in the 101 in 1001 challenge. Essentially you create a list of 101 things you hope to do or accomplish in the next 1001 days. What’s one thing you’d put on your list?

There are about 1,001 things I need to do in the next 101 days (or vice versa! LOL). #1 I’d like to finally accomplish is simplify my house enough to finally live and feel clutter-free!!!!!
2. How many remote controls do you have in your house? What’s one item in your home you wish could be operated by remote control?

Let’s see – 3 TV remotes, 1 VCR remote (yes, we have a VCR!!!), 1 DVD remote, a remote to the Eden Pure heater … and I think that’s it.  I’m glad because we have enough time keeping track of the ones we do have. 

I wish I could remotely change my daughter’s diapers …

3. What does having it all mean to you? Is it attainable?
Tough question – for me, having it all would be my family together and healthy, my husband in a stable job that he enjoys, and lives lived to honor God. I think those things are attainable … but maybe somewhat naive. 
4. What’s your favorite movie soundtrack?
As a 1990s young adult, I had 2 favorite movie soundtracks:  THe Last of the Mohicans and Robin Hood (the Kevin Costner version) …
5. Describe the best view you’ve seen from a rooftop.
The traffic on the busy street running by our hotel in Athens, Greece … October 1996 … even at midnight, the traffic was heavy and LOUD (much horn-honking!!)
6. What’s your least favorite thing about summer?
dry, parched grass 😦 
7. Our weekly Hodgepodge falls on the first day of August. In ten words or less sum up your July.
kids to grandparents, 2 different church camps, and our church’s missions conference (one word:  busy!) 
8. Insert your own random thought here.

Robert Frost said, “In three words I can sum up everything I have learned about life:  It goes on.” 

Yesterday was my husband’s last day of work at the school where he worked for exactly 7 years (August 1, 2005-July 31, 2012) … and it was somewhat anti-climatic:  yesterday he went to work; today we won’t.  While we have so many memories and experiences and lessons learned and people who we have come to love, it is hard to believe that phase of our lives is now over.   Just like that. 

Conny

This entry was posted in Hodge Podge. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hodge Podge – 8/1/2012

  1. sally says:

    oh, I understand the bittersweetness of changing jobs – we are facing that ourselves. Will pray for you, friend.

  2. Joyce says:

    I love the score in Last of the Mohicans…so hauntingly beautiful. Does your husband have a new job or is he looking? I'm sure it's a bit emotional regardless. Thinking of you…

Comments are closed.