If It Doesn’t Kill You …

Oh, friends, if you have followed my blog for very long, you know I have a love-hate relationship with my husband’s 1996 Buick LeSabre.  The above makes me want to go out there, stretch my muscles out a little, do a weight-lifter squat in front of that vehicle, and attempt to heft it up over my head … and I do believe I might just succeed!!! 

While I realize the things that have happened to me in the last year have been minimal compared to some people’s greatest challenges – like fighting cancer, losing a loved one, or experiencing a house fire – I’ve had my own little personal crisis of faith and seen the direction of our lives change drastically (not necessarily in a bad way – just very differently than I ever imagined).  In crisis, I don’t mean I doubted my faith, I have just had it tested and had to come to some conclusions that exposed a lot of things in my own life and forced me to dig deeper on what I really believe about God and His Word and His will. 

You see, as of yesterday, my husband joined the ranks of the 8.2% of Americans who are unemployed.  And it is by choice … he wasn’t fired or let go, it was just time for him to “move on” as they say. It wasn’t a decision made lightly … it was a process that evolved over the last year as God revealed more and more to us what was right for our family – and believe me, it is radically different than I ever thought 7 years ago when my husband took his job as Christian school teacher/administrator … We always imagined our kids would graduate – as we did – from a Christian school.  It was a journey – a revelation – circumstances – and eye-opening events that brought us to where we are today.  That sounds a little overly dramatic – but when you consider our whole life direction has changed in the last year from my husband’s career to how we will educate our children, it is dramatic (and occasionally it was tramatic too!!).

Today I can look back and say NO REGRETS.  We are so thankful for all we have learned and experienced in the last 7 years … and some day I will share how my own heart has changed (again, in a positive way) so much towards people, the ministry, and God Himself as a result.  I look forward and while we have plans and some leads and some hopes and ideas, we really aren’t sure where God will take us and what exactly my husband will be doing in the long run.  There are lots of job applications out there and contacts being made with people my husband used to work with in his prior job as a Patient Administrator.  I just love that my husband’s heart attitude is still exactly the same – his goal is still “to make a difference” – no matter where he works.  And I know God will bless that.

This entry was posted in Random Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to If It Doesn’t Kill You …

  1. Rebecca D says:

    I have a love/hate relationship with change… I think we all do. But when it's time to make those big leaps of faith… When the call from the Lord is too loud to be ignored, I find it is best to put your head up, say a prayer and jump… It sounds like your family did just that and it will be exciting to see what the Lord does with it!

  2. melanie says:

    Thinking of you ~♥~{{hugs}}

  3. Maribeth says:

    Thinking of you and sending prayers, hugs and love!

  4. Mrs. Doug says:

    Glad to hear the update. Still praying for you. There's something out there for you. Maybe you'll move to NH :)God Bless!

  5. Michelle G says:

    change is hard. and scary. even when we decide it's time for a change. So many things I look back on and see that I was really in a much better place AFTER the change….but still…it's not easy! Blessings to you!!!!!M

Comments are closed.