Happy HomeMaker – 8/20/2012

The Weather:::

It is 74 degrees right now … sunshiney day!

On my reading pile:::

Introverts in the Church by Adam McHugh
a James Patterson book just for mindless reading
and a stack of 5 more books I want to read some day!

On my tv:::

our cable company recently added a Disney Junior channel … which actually made me happy because it excludes all the teeny-bopper Disney shows that take up all day now on the regular Disney channel.  But now Miriam can have Disney Jr programs any time … it is good and bad at the same time!!

On the menu for this week:::

 
Today we’re trying a rice, cheese, and chicken crockpot recipe.  I’m going through my pinterest account and writing down all the weekday recipes I’m looking forward to trying. 

Over the weekend, I made a list of all the things in my freezers and fridge and pantry so I can plan my meals around those items. 

On my to do list:::
down-load all my digital pics from April til now so I can print out the ones I want to put in albums
keep weeding stuff out for a yard sale I’m going to participate in – in mid-September

Homemaking Tips:::

This isn’t a novel idea, but I carry a little notebook with me wherever I go.  It is small enough to fit in my purse.  I keep my daily to-do’s in there and all my lists and contact #s in there too.  If I ever lose that notebook, I’m in trouble!! 

Looking around the house:::

Today is our first day of home school!!  🙂  The older kids are finding their area for watching their DVD lessons.  Andrew is in his room, which makes sense as he is very independent learner.  Anna was going to try her room too – but she’s ended up at the dining room table because she likes my continual input and a running dialog.  I’m not sure how long I’ll be able to do that with her, but as she gets used to this new program, I’m here for her.  🙂  

From the camera:::

On my prayer list:::

my husband’s job situation (thankfully this week he has some odd jobs to do for someone)
our first year of home schooling
those struggling with serious illness or chronic pain

Bible verse, Devotional:::

“The Bible never once says, ‘Figure it out.’  But over and over it says ‘Trust God’.  He’s already got it figured out.”  

Conny 

This entry was posted in Happy Homemaker. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy HomeMaker – 8/20/2012

  1. Mrs. Doug says:

    Oops, just noticed on your post that you already began homeschool… silly me!

  2. Mrs. Doug says:

    Connie, I'm still praying for you all. When will your homeschooling begin? Schools around here start in three weeks, but in DC they start August 23.I have been going through my cupboards and freezers and sorting out foods we will never use and giving them away if they're still good and making room for the chickens and ducks that we'll be slaughtering in just a little while. We tried to sell some of our ducks at the local "chicken swap", but were not successful. Everyone thinks they need a pond for ducks which is not so and they also think that all duck meat is greasy. I'll agree some is very greasy, but we get more grease from our chickens than from the Muscovy. Guess we'll be enjoying a little duck meat this winter. We certainly aren't going to feed them all winter with the increased price in grain. They stop laying in the winter so they just are not profitable to keep through the winter. We only keep our breeding stock. We sell duck eggs for $5 a dozen at the local CO OP.Have you been having drought there?Hope you have a good day.

  3. Wow! Enjoy your first year of homeschooling! We love homeschooling :)My HHM:http://simplyamom.blogspot.com/2012/08/happy-homemaker-monday-820.html

Comments are closed.