HodgePodge – 8/22/2012

 

Joining Joyce for another Wednesday HodgePodge:

1. Aloha! On August 21, 1959 Hawaii officially became a US state. Have you ever been? Upon arrival would you prefer an orchid or a hibiscus to tuck behind your ear?
 
No, never been … we would have liked to have been stationed at Tripler Army Hospital during our Army days – but alas, we never got those orders 😦   I have had many military friends who have happily lived on Hawaii … and actually, I love the plumeria flowers best – I had a necklace pendant I loved with my initial and a plumeria from a military friend.  I do like hibiscuses better than orchids.  🙂
2. Since we’re talking tropical…what’s your favorite food or beverage made with pineapple?
 
I’m not the biggest pineapple fan – but I do like pineapple upside down cake.  My mom makes “Toast Hawaii” with ham, melted cheese, a pineapple and a marchiano cherry on it … it’s good too. 
3. Do you believe in soul mates? Explain.
 

I think soulmates are found and sustained.  I couldn’t imagine my life without my husband, he IS my soulmate and completes me perfectly – but we’re committed to remain that way. 

4. Share a memory about the house you grew up in.
 

I lived in several houses growing up … When we lived in Alexandria, Virginia before we moved to Tennessee, our house had THE BEST back yard!!  It had lots of trees (and we did lots of raking), but it bordered on some woods, and we had our own path that went deep into the woods where we’d take our 2 dogs, Sugar and Fluffy.  I also could walk to school and church which were located on our street! 

5. Are you comfortable with silence?
 

Very much so.   In fact, my favorite way to be is home alone with NO music or TV on.  I re-charge best on my own, alone, quiet.  If I’m with someone and we’re not talking, I do tend to say stupid things to fill the silence with them if they aren’t talking – but I can just sit quietly with my husband in the car or at home (although we usually have enough to talk about that we talk incessantly anyway!). 

6. You spot a giant spider on your bedroom wall…what’s your next move? (all spiders are giant, right?)
 

I’m actually more ok with spiders than I am with roaches or crickets or other things that “scurry” around or jump at me 😦  I used to have to call my husband if he was home to kill the GIANT spiders – but we’ve lived in this house by the woods for so long now, that I have gotten kind of used to killing the big ones myself too.  It is very much “mind over matter.” 

Recently, we had a termite inspection, and the exterminator/inspector told us the good news was that we had no termites, but the bad news was we had A LOT of spiders under our house, in the crawl space (and as a result often in our garage and utility room).  😦

7. My idea of fun does NOT include ______________.
 

crowds and noise and exhausting, non-stop activities – and unless it is a baseball game, it does not include sports. 

8. Insert your own random thought here.
 
We are on day #3 of our homeschooling … So far, so good.  Andrew is very independent and chugging along practically on his own (though he checks in with me after he completes each class) … Anna is just as I expected:  a little more needy, a little more distracted, more apt to complain that she doesn’t like or want to do something.  But that’s why she is HOMESCHOOLING, so I can help her focus.   For example, she’ll get up in the middle of a lesson to get something to drink, so I have to stop her and tell her she can’t do that in school, why does she think she can do that now?!   She also sits at the dining room table to watch her teaching DVDs … and I can tell when she’s tuned out – like today in Math.  Henceforth, she’ll be re-doing that lesson tomorrow because she has closed her mind to its concepts (estimating based on highest place number and estimating based on more accurate rounding).   So far, I’m really enjoying having structure to our days … although I do realize we’ll have days where I am more stressed out or when we just won’t feel like doing school – but isn’t that just life in general anyway!! 
 
Funny thing is we got up on Monday at 7:30 a.m., ready for school!!  On Tuesday, I got up at 7:45 a.m., and today I didn’t get up until 8 a.m.  LOL  Our goal is to start school by 8:30 a.m. each day, so actually, I’m still doing ok.  🙂 
 
Conny
This entry was posted in Hodge Podge. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to HodgePodge – 8/22/2012

  1. Sara H says:

    Love the plumeria. We've been trying to grow a tree in our yard for several years. We finally potted it and it's doing better. We had flowers on it last year. Of course, this summer we've had brutal heat so I don't know if it will make it.Glad you're enjoying school so far. My kids who are going to school start Tuesday. We'll see how we like it. 🙂

  2. Love your #3 answer and I feel the same way 🙂 I dont like crowds either – or waiting in lines. Good luck with your homeschooling year 🙂

  3. Joyce says:

    Since my husband travels a lot I do often have to put mind over matter and kill bugs. I can do it. I just don't like to do it : ) My bigger concern in this house is the abundance of things bigger than a bug out in our woods.

Comments are closed.