Hodge Podge – 8/29/2012

Joining Joyce again this week:

1. Americans will celebrate Labor Day this coming weekend. Do you know what we’re actually celebrating? (without consulting your friends Google or wikipedia, ahem) What’s a project you’re currently ‘laboring‘ over?

Without looking, no, honestly, can’t say I know why we have a labor day … other than thinking about how America has always been a Land of Opportunity – and perhaps it is day for the hard-working people to have a break and be thankful?

Right now I’m getting used to laboring over home-schooling.  It is currently an all-consuming task.  I’d love to have other projects going – and unless you count my slow-but-steady cleaning-out of STUFF in anticipation of mid-September yard sale, my home improvement tasks are currently at a stand still. 

2. Labor Day also signals the unofficial end of summer for most of us…what summer food will you miss the most? If you’re in the southern hemisphere feel free to substitute winter for summer.
My family will miss the garden-grown tomatoes … and other fresh produce. 
3. A well known proverb states, ‘It’s easier to seek forgiveness than ask permission.’ Your thoughts?
As a head-strong, independent person, I’ve occasionally lived by this … more that I’ve just done what needed to get done or what I wanted done without considering asking if I should or asking for help.  I’ve learned by making so many mistakes due to my insistence of my own way, that I have often had to ask for mercy more so than for forgiveness … and have to learn to slow down, wait, and/or ask for help or advice. 
A good example of this was last Friday, I finally decided to have my vehicle (that has been dead for 2 months now) towed into a repair shop (after stopping by and asking if they could look at it, suggesting the problem, getting pricing for an estimate, etc).  Within about an hour’s time, it was done.  That evening when I picked my husband up from his temporary job, he introduced me to a guy who worked with him who said he could look at our car the next day to save us some money … and I had to confess that I’d just had it towed to the repair shop! 
4. Food critic, film critic, book critic, art critic….which hat would you most like to wear?

I’d love to be the critic of what food to eat while reading what book … that way I could do 2 of my favorite things at once. 

5. When you were a kid, who (besides your parents) was your favorite adult?
Definitely my German Oma … whom this blog is dedicated to.  I spent every summer with her and my Opa growing up. 
6. The astronaut, Neil Armstrong, passed away last week. He was regarded as a hero by many generations of people all around the world. Do we still have modern day heroes? What makes someone a hero?

My husband is my  personal hero … but that’s a little biased.  😉  But seriously, he exhibits so many character traits I admire and am thankful he instills into our children – while I tend to instill more of the crazy, emotional, struggling, sometimes irrational things into our poor kids!  🙂  He is the calm to my crazy – the logical to my emotional – the steady to my all-over-the-place – and the reasonable to my irrational.  🙂

In a bigger sense of the word HERO, yes, I think those who serve willingly in jobs that serve are heroes – at least to me – and if they have pure motives for their job:  police, firefighters, nurses/doctors, EMTs, soldiers/military, etc. 

I know some people may consider certain sports figures as “heroes” — but as much as I think Tim Tebow is an admirable guy – and I truly like the kid – he’s not really my hero … although I wish him well and hope he uses all that money he makes for good things (kind of like Kurt Warner). 

7. I never get tired of __________________.

being at home. 

8. Insert your own random thought here.

Yesterday was my mom’s birthday!   The older I get, the better my relationship with my mother gets and the more I understand and appreciate what all she did for me and why … And I’m hopeful I inherited some of her ageless genes and look as great as she does when I am her age!!

(this is my mom and dad w/ my brother’s cute kids who live near them … 620 miles away from me): 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hodge Podge – 8/29/2012

  1. Mrs. Doug says:

    Wow… you can tell who's your Momma… you have that same cute little nose and same sweet dimpled smile :)What I will miss most about summer is being outside as much as I like without being cold. I love being in the warm garden with dirt squishing through my toes. Picking fresh veggies when I like… well, not all summer but right now anyway. Yes, summer will be missed very much. We have at least a couple of weeks left of summer weather. I hope frost stays away for a little while longer giving my tomatoes some ripening time. Hope you have a happy Thursday!

  2. One of my most favorite things about summer is fresh produce – straight from the field, to the farmers market, to my table! (we dont have a garden this year – hopefully next summer I can take out that middle man!)

  3. April says:

    I csn never get enough of home grown tomatoes, either! A big HAPPY BIRTHDAY to your mom…she sure does look great!

  4. Joyce says:

    Happy Birthday to your mom! I'm hoping I have my mom's youthful looks when I'm her age too. Sadly I fear I loved the sun a little too much when I was younger. My mom's skin is perfect and I think that's what makes her look far younger than she is. Car troubles-ugh!

  5. Maribeth says:

    I think you look very much like your Mom! Both of you are beautiful ladies!

Comments are closed.