Growing Up

DSC01209

When I think that Andrew is in 9th grade and Anna is in 7th grade, I realize that my babies are growing up so quickly!!  Time is flying … and I can’t stop it.

Even Miriam is getting SO big.  She is very verbal so we have these long conversations that make me feel like she understands just about everything.  She’ll be 3 in December, which is just around the corner.  It is time to sort through her clothes stash again because she is outgrowing her summer wardrobe (perfect timing with fall around the corner!).

And yet, there are moments like this morning, when Miriam is still in those final moments of blissful sleep that I still see that baby that was born seemingly yesterday.

DSC01210

Anna will be 12 in a couple of months – on the verge of being a teenager.  But we are holding on to the last of the “girl” days – liking American Girl dolls, wearing a silly Christmas hoodie in September, baking cupcakes together, and watching cartoons.

DSC01208

(I lost my picture of Andrew, learning to cook eggs this morning)

Andrew’s birthday is next week … 14 years old.  Do you know how hard it is to find a gift for a teen boy that doesn’t cost $100+??!  We’ve been trying to figure out what Andrew REALLY wants, but he isn’t talking.  We’re inclined to just give him some money and let him buy what he wants – but as a mom, I still want him to have a present he can open up on his special day.   I’m sure we’ll think of something.  Smile

So, when Andrew and Anna are bickering (and apparently, this stage of their sibling-ness is the pick-on-each-other phase – or maybe it is just the constant togetherness of home-schooling?!) and when Miriam is forever whining (and apparently, age 2 3/4 is her time to want something almost continually from the moment she wakes up – milk, a toy, this shirt-not that one, the tv on, not that DVD but this one, cheese, an apple, not cheese, a drink, potty, NO potty, wash hands, go outside, shoes on, shoes off, this shoe-not that shoe, etc), realizing how quickly these days fly by remind me to hold on tightly to the moments, cherish them – and make sure that my reaction is one that will edify and not discourage (though my tendency is to just react without thinking about it!).

I recently came across this quote from CH Spurgeon that I love – that affirms that what I am doing right now is worthwhile … but that convicts me that I could be doing it better, with more awareness of my own behavior and responsibility:

“You are as much serving God in looking after your own children, and training them up in God’s fear, and minding the house, and making your household a church for God, as you would be if you had been called to lead an army to battle for the Lord of Hosts.”

This entry was posted in Annie-Belle, Drew, Family, MiMi. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Growing Up

  1. Miriam says:

    Hallo Conny,ja, sie werden so schnell groß, die süßen kleinen.Meine Tochter wird 4 im November und ich geniesse jeden Moment :-)Die Frage was ich ihr schenken soll, wenn sie 14, wird will ich mir lieber nicht stellen. Keine leichte Aufgabe für Eltern in dieser, mit materiellen Dingen vollgestopften, Zeit.Mit vier sind sie noch nicht so anspruchsvoll :-)Liebe Grüße an die kleine MiriamLiebe GrüßeMiriam

  2. Sara H says:

    So true, especially about our reaction. I don't think much about it myself. Liked the quote from Spurgeon. He was a great preacher. 🙂

  3. Liebe Conny, ich kann sehr gut mir Dir fühlen, obwohl meine Kinder noch viel jünger sind. Der Grosse kommt im nächsten Jahr in die Schule und ist schon so weit für sein Alter! Ich mag nicht daran denken, wie es ist, wenn er zum ersten mal richtig selbständig wird. Und meine Kleine wird 4, aber sie ist auch schon ein so grosses Mädchen…Liebe GrüßeKaroline

  4. It is well says:

    Amen, and Amen! You're doing the most important job in the world!

Comments are closed.