Hodge Podge 9/12/2012

It is time again to join Joyce for HodgePodge …
which means yet another week is half-way over!

1. ARE YOU READY FOR SOME FOOTBALL? The NFL is back in action along with all the college teams. Are you a fan? Who do you root for? If you’re not a fan what do you do while the rest of America watches Saturday, Sunday, Monday night, and now Thursday night games?

We are generally a college football family:  Iowa Hawkeyes (my hubby’s team) and the Tennessee Volunteers (my team)!!  BUT this season, my son was invited to play fantasy (NFL) football … so the TV will be showing LOTS of games on weekends, Monday and Thursday nights.  From a distance, I’m cheering for Peyton Manning and the Broncos (he played for Tennessee, after all!!).

2. What’s something I’ll always find in your closet?

A shoe shine kit … and cedar deoderizers!!  🙂

3. Share one of your earliest memories.

Being in the hospital at age 2 1/2-ish for a thyroid problem.  My family still lived in Germany at the time (very early 1970s) – and I remember being strapped into my bed at night!!  It wasn’t that they were harsh – it was just a very practical way to keep toddlers in their beds in the days before parents could stay the night with their hospitalized children.  I think children’s hospitals have come a longgggggggggg way since then!!

4. What circus act best describes your week so far?

Sometimes wild animal taming … sometimes juggling … and quite often, I’m really just the clown.

5. What’s a food you disliked as a child but you love now?

I used to hate sour cream … now I put it on EVERYTHING!!  🙂

6. Describe your summer in three words.

HARD!  emotional.  transitional.

7. Where were you on September 11, 2001? Will you do anything special to mark the day this year?

I was staying with my parents in Knoxville, Tennessee – with my 10 month old and almost-3 year old (my son’s birthday is September 18) while my husband attended a 6 week Army course in Kansas, and we were between duty stations.  My husband was due to graduate later that week … but all the officers in his course were detained from returning to their families/duty stations until it was more clear how things would go after the 9/11 bombings and a potential war on terror.  He finally got to come home in time for our son’s birthday – but he did get deployed to go to Iraq in February of 2003 and landed in Kuwait on the first day of the War – March 19, 2003.

This year I put my American flag on my porch as I always do.  We did watch some of a 9/11 documentary on TV … but it was almost too emotional to watch/hear, even now, 11 years later.

8. Insert your own random thought here.

Oh, my … don’t even know how or where to begin.
My week has been just this – full of random thoughts!!
Things like lots of job opportunities for my husband (at least for applications – not so sure of his chances at an actual interview!!) –
Things like frustrated plans all week (telling the volleyball coach that Anna would be at conditioning practice on Monday … and the realizing I didn’t have a car!! … and wanting to text the coach … and realizing I didn’t have our cell phone!).
Wondering if I’ll ever get my vehicle back (it’s been in the shop almost 2 weeks now – *sigh*).  Enjoying my days AT HOME, knowing that my kids are anxious to start sports soon – and I’m just not.
Trying to update our church’s accounting program after a transfer to a new computer left me with a lot of missing entries – that I am now slowly, cautiously re-entering data and hoping I’m doing it right!

Moments of stress, moments of peace, moments of frustration, moments of quiet, moments with God …
just the NORMAL life of an ordinary Hausfrau.

This entry was posted in Hodge Podge. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hodge Podge 9/12/2012

  1. Joyce says:

    My birthday is also the 18th : ) And of course we're Petyon and Vol fans too. Hope they have a better season than last! The car issue sounds so distressing. Hope it's resolved soon!

  2. Sara H says:

    We're usually the clowns. 🙂 Thanks to your dh for serving and your family for sacrificing.

  3. April says:

    Abby and I watched a couple videos of 9/11 yesterday…I had nightmares all night long of airplanes crashing in the sky. Not good. Oh, I think I'm quite the clown around here, too!

  4. Angie says:

    Strapped to the bed! No wonder you remember it! That's so sad. Makes sense, but still sad.It'sinteresting reading everyone's 9/11 stories. It just shows that many of us were impacted in a very real way that day. Thanks to your husband for his service to our country!Putting out the flag…why didn't I think of that!Still praying for the new job for your husband. The Lord is faithful. Hang in there.

  5. melanie says:

    hee hee ~ I like the circus act : )And I feel for you on the random thoughts too {{hugs}}

Comments are closed.