In The Darkness:

This last week or so have been weird … we’ve had some of those “when it rains, it pours” days …

Things all around our house suddenly seemed to be breaking – all at once!  Our ice maker quit … we found the sub-floor is rotting near our (apparently leaky) french door to the patio … and we got my broken-down-for-3-months vehicle back only to have to take it right back to the repair shop.

On one of those days, there was a SUPER LOUD “pow” … and our electricity went out.  That was about 11 a.m.  Since we’ve seen utility workers at a pole by the highway near us, we just assumed something happened at the generator there.  Homeschool and other things came to a near stand-still as we need DVD players and the computer for complete lessons.  By 7 p.m. that night, we noticed our neighbor’s lights were on … and across the street, the super-duper, HUGE t.v. in our other neighbor’s house was lighting up their window.  At this point, we realized that OUR HOUSE was the only one in the dark!!

That’s life.  Sometimes we just stumble around in the dark … seemingly alone.  And yet, much like the electic company has an emergency tech available all night, God is available for us to call out to around the clock too!  Ready to rescue!  Ready to help!  Or at least able to say, “I’ll fix all your issues when the timing is right.”

It is funny how you still keep trying to turn on lights even though you know the electricity is out … or you think about baking cookies until you realize the electric stove/oven is out too.  And things you didn’t remember relying on electricity – the dishwasher and washing machine –  seem like the ONE THING you really want to use!!   And then, when the electricity is finally back on, how grateful you are for these usually-taken-for-granted appliances and conveniences.

Maybe sometimes God wants us to stumble around for a while so that when He finally steps in and makes things right again, we are changed and grateful.

I think this is how I’ll feel when my husband is permanently employed again – I’ll see his salary in a whole different light and be ever-more grateful for the provision for our family.  I am already changed and changing due to difficult circumstances lately.  In the past, I think I would have been really angry or discouraged – and while I definitely have my break-down moments, I also have had a deep calm for a long time now, like God whispering in my ear, “It’s going to be ok…I’m working on this…”.

They say it is darkest just before dawn (and having just gone through an all-night black-out, I can say that is true as I tried to find my way to the bathroom at 4 a.m.!) … not sure if that fits in anywhere biblically, but I do know God promised we didn’t have to be anxious for anything … that if he takes care of the birds and flowers, surely He will take care of us.  He tells us to cast our care on Him – and to trust Him to direct our paths.   That is what happens when Jesus comes in – as Matthew 4:16 describes what happened to Israel as they had lived in the “darkness” of the Old Testament times – and were receiving the light of the gospel lived out right before their eyes, a fulfillment of God’s promise to them:

“The people that sat in darkness saw a great light, And to them that sat in the
region and shadow of death, To them did light spring up.”

I am ever hopeful and ready for God to flip on that switch!

This entry was posted in Devotional Thoughts, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to In The Darkness:

  1. Angie says:

    Good reminder! We were out of electricity for 5 days in June and I can tell you I still have my thankful moments even now when I think back to how life comes to a standstill without electricity. Hope yours is back on very soon.

  2. Sara H says:

    WP huh? Well, maybe it will keep me logged in now if I’m reading it more regularly. 🙂

    Thanks for your words. It’s so hard to see this lesson in the midst of it and your words about your trials are always a blessing. Praying for you.

  3. Dackel says:

    Last night I woke in terrible pain. I often get these leg cramps, and only heat will unclench the muscle. I got out of bed, and fell on the floor. I sat in the darkness, not wanting to wake my Hubby, and actually, amazed that he and the four dogs all slept through my crash to the floor. I felt disoriented and due to the pain, I was off balance, but I knew where my heating pad was and asked God to help me get to it. Not only did he get me there, but I accidentally found a flashlight along the way, so I was able to plug it in and not bother anyone.
    Last night was physical pain, but in the past I have also felt emotionally in the dark. Trust in the Lord. He will never let you down!

  4. Mrs. D says:

    Love the fact that you are relying on God through this time. It’ll only make you stronger. Me too.

  5. My, my, sounds like the dawn is coming! So good to “catch up” with you a bit today. On a bit more these days, but still tired. All things work together for good for those who love Jesus! Just gotta keep the big picture in mind 🙂 Hugs

Comments are closed.