“14”

 

DSC01221

On Tuesday, we celebrated 14 years of our son, Drew! 

Birthdays always make me nostalgic for the newborn babies that I held seemingly yesterday … and suddenly, I have a son who is taller than me with a deepening voice that I sometimes don’t even recognize! 

My kids like to hear their birth stories and tease each other about who caused me the most pain!  I’d say after 20 hours of labor and natural child birth, Drew was my most “difficult” birth … but I never minded, I didn’t care – we wanted that baby so much …

After 2 1/2 years of infertility treatments, a surgery, and studying everything I could get my hands on about our diagnosis at the time, to be pregnant was the best thing that ever happened to me in a long time.  And to have a healthy, beautiful 7 lb, 6 oz baby boy was our own little miracle.  To watch this boy grow has been amazing … and to realize the responsibility of teaching him and guiding him and praying for him are almost overwhelming sometimes.  I want so much for my children – I want them to be good people, responsible, and kind and selfless … but most of all, I want them to love and serve Jesus – not because that is what I want but because that is what they want with all their hearts. 

When I see glimmers of my prayers and hopes being fulfilled in my children, particularly in Drew as my oldest, it brings me more joy and gratefulness than I think I experienced on the day of his birth. 

DSC01227DSC01229

On Drew’s birthday, we opened presents in the morning.  Much excitement, especially for MiMi who is just now figuring the whole birthday thing out for herself. 

DSC01230

Later in the morning, Drew has a nice surprise!  Some home-schooling friends from church live in our neighborhood – and they with their cousins walked over to our house to serenade Drew.  The cupcakes were just out of the oven so we were able to offer a few birthday treats too. 

DSC01231

14 … hard to believe. 

DSC01232

In MiMi’s opinion, licking the frosting off is the best part of birthday cupcakes. 

DSC01236

I love celebrating my children … each one, each day …

DSC01238

blog sig

This entry was posted in Drew. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “14”

  1. Dackel says:

    It’s funny you mention birthdays. I decided to throw my own birthday bash this year, doing all the cooking and inviting the people that are the closest to me. Since I told my sister (who lives fairly far away), she is very upset with me. Telling me my birthday is not as important as hers is (She will be 60 this year, and I will be 54).
    I think we should always celebrate our birthdays. I think it is important that we share those special days. Mandy will be 36 this year. She is still my special girl and always will be.

  2. Renee says:

    My youngest dd is 14… it’s a fun age (most of the time)

Comments are closed.