HodgePodge – 9/26/2012

Joining Joyce for Wednesday HodgePodge:

1. The Wednesday Hodgepodge this week falls on John Chapman’s birth date.  He’s more famously known as Johnny Appleseed…what’s your favorite variety of apple?

It all depends on what I’m in the mood for – love the tartness of a Granny Smith … love them in apple cake!   Love the sweet crispness of Golden Delicious too.  Love most apples!
2.   When did you last say ‘ick’?

Several times a day with MiMi around … for one thing she loves discussing BUGS … which merits a lot of “ewwwwwwwwww, gross!!!” reactions frome her and expected from us too.  Ick goes along with that.
3.   Do you think there’s a generation gap?  Explain.

Well, just in seeing how much technology my kids have vs. what I had (I remember the first VCR in my childhood home, the first microwave – that was HUGE machine, and Atari video games!!).  Compare that to what my parents had – no television, even no plumbing in their earliest days, and such, I do think it causes us to not always be able to relate to each other because the “rules have changed.”

In other words, my mom never had to say to me, “Only one hour of Wii today!!” or “No, you can’t text your friend at this hour!” … and her mom never had to say to her, “You may not watch Little House on the Praire when it comes on at 4:30 p.m. today on channel 3” or “No, you may not have more quarters so you can play Pacman at the arcade!”.

4.  What’s on your computer screen saver?  Do you leave it alone or change it often?

Just a standard MicroSoft ribbon screen.  Nope, forget to change it … I do change my desktop wallpaper every so often though.
5.  If you had the attention of the entire world for two minutes, what would you say?

Well, as a Christian, I think I’d have to share something about Jesus … that He loves them all  so much that He died for them all- that He is the Way, the Truth, and the Life.  I think I’d plead with everyone to consider Him – His creation – the conscience He puts inside each person … Then compare Him to other “religions”, to realize He is the only god who is still ALIVE!  And that He can bring peace to all … but more importantly, peace for the eternal soul – not based on OUR good works, our sacrifices, our proverty or wealth, or our efforts … but based on HIS sacrifice on the cross alone.  The only God who offers Heaven as a FREE gift.

6.  Four fashion trends to try this fall are-brocade/jacquard (fancy printed fabrics), peplum, lace, and printed pants…which of these four would you be most likely to wear?

BROCADE!!  I have loved brocade since I chose it as the material for my bridesmaids 20 years ago (my husband proposed to me 20 years ago in September – we got married in December).  Peplum – I hate – I don’t need anything else hanging off my waist!!!  Lace is nice – but am I too old??!  Would I look like a granny??!  And printed pants – well, I don’t look great in pants anyway – so I’d say NOPE.

7.  What can make your bad day better?

CHOCOLATE!!!!  🙂  A random act of kindness.  COFFEE !!!  “Let’s eat out tonight!” … “Let’s go shopping!” … “Why don’t you go to Panera all by yourself for a while until you feel better.”  Food and laziness  and my family and alone-time are probably my love languages.
8.  Insert your own random thought here.

I have moved my blog to WordPress.  While I have posted in HodgePodge lots of times, I am having to post a little more carefully these days.  I’m not “hiding” – but I am being more discreet.  You may have visited me before, posting under a different name – but now you can just

Read my “Call Me Cordelia” page to find out why I chose this moniker.

 

This entry was posted in Hodge Podge. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to HodgePodge – 9/26/2012

  1. Brenda says:

    Except for the coffee 🙂 we have so much in common. I remember the HUGE microwave too and our first one (a gift) probably cost around $500! I laughed at your ‘generation gap’ answer! So true.

  2. Nani says:

    CHOCOLATE and COFFEE in bold letters; I’m not even having a bad day and you made it better! 😀

  3. Dackel says:

    These Hodgepodge questions were fun. I especially liked the apple question because of what I know about apples!

  4. Wayne says:

    A nice set of hodgepodge answers.

  5. It is funny talking to my kids about the things they have vs the things I had growing up. Especially the phone party lines. They are amazed with that one. As well as the black and white tvs.

  6. melanie says:

    I suppose I will continue to buck the fashion trends… and be ignorant all the while. 😉
    Well-said 2-min message!
    I’m going to wish I were I coffee-drinker today… maybe some high-caffeine chocolate?

  7. Joyce says:

    Eating out is definitely one of my love languages. Hubs too which works out well : ) Enjoy your day!

  8. Mrs. D says:

    I had to look and see what “peplum” was… thought it was some type of fabric, but looks like an added poof around the middle…. Hmmmmm… don’t think I’d want to go there. Guess you can tell I’m NOT a “fashionista”.
    No greater message to give the world. I’d do the same if I had 2 minutes.

  9. Jocelyn says:

    It’s crazy how things change throughout the generations!

  10. Krista says:

    I believe chocolate can heal the soul 🙂

  11. Judy Loeffler says:

    Chocolate is a great way to feel better although I would have to look carefully since I don’t keep it around.

Comments are closed.