Happy Homemaker – 10/1/2012

Joining Sandra and Friends today:  (and adding a lovely new fall picture ^ that Sandra made^)

THE WEATHER:::

It’s Fall, ya’all!  🙂   It is 57 degrees outside, just a little nippy.  🙂

RIGHT NOW I AM:::

drinking coffee, smelling my Yankee Candle autumn candle, finishing up lesson plans and menu plans for the week.  Still need to take a shower and get dressed … SLOW Monday morning here!!

THINKING:::

about my husband – he started a new project with the contractor he is (temporarily) working for – and for him as a very-non-construction-type person, he really never knows what he is getting into (which the contractor knows but is using him in a more supervisory role for his crews)!!  🙂  Praying he will have a good day and thankful he has some temporary employment.

ON MY READING PILE:::

Back to reading through my Lilian Jackson Braun “The Cat Who …” books … and neglecting one book I need to read for a review.  🙂  In my Bible reading, I am almost through the book of Ezekiel (I’m reading through the Bible at my own pace – started in January 2009).

ON MY TV:::

currently, it is silent.  🙂

ON THE MENU:::

Not sure what days we’ll have what, but the plan is:

lasagna

tater tot casserole

quick beef-rice casserole

and chicken taco casserole

ON MY TO-DO LIST:::

take stuff away to Goodwill (6 bags of clothes plus a few boxes)  – YEH!!

HOMEMAKING TIPS:::

I can’t remember if this is exactly right – but on pinterest, I saw that you can mix equal parts vinegar and dishwashing soap and put it into one of those handled-dish-scrubbers (you put the solution in the handle part) – and you can scrub your shower with that … supposedly the BEST cleaner ever??!!

LOOKING AROUND MY HOUSE:::

MiMi is still half asleep even though she came downstairs at 6:30 this morning!  She just can’t get awake though and has been dozing off and on – now it is 10 a.m.!  I think the weekend with her grandparents WORE HER OUT!  🙂

Drew and Annie-Belle are watching their school DVDs.

FROM THE CAMERA:::

We were at Silver Dollar City (an amusement type park in Branson, Missouri) this weekend – and MiMi was finally tall enough to ride her first “roller coaster” with her daddy (and sister in the car behind them):

ON MY PRAYER LIST:::

My husband’s job situation (he had a job interview a week from last Friday – but they already warned him the hiring process is SLOW …)

Daniel’s great uncle died yesterday – he was 94 years old – had just celebrated 71 (!!!!) years of marriage.  His wife is still living (obviously) – but has severe alzheimers … praying for the family.

DEVOTIONAL THOUGHT:::

Some more pleasant thoughts from the gloom-and-doom and judgment of the book of Ezekiel:

“As I live!” declares the Lord God, “I take no pleasure in the death of the wicked, but rather that the wicked would trun from his way and live.  Turn back, turn back from your evil ways!”  Ezekiel 33:11

This entry was posted in Happy Homemaker. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Happy Homemaker – 10/1/2012

  1. Rebekah says:

    Agghh, Ezekiel! Just finished reading that as part of our Bible College course. So glad that book is over. Lol! The chicken taco casserole sounds yummy.

  2. Tina Leigh says:

    57 degree weather, coffee, yankee candle (I just bought the same one!), tater tot casserole!!! Im coming for a visit!!!!!!!

  3. Whitney says:

    I really really really love the vinegar/dawn mixture! I use it in my bathroom and kitchen because my husband has such severe allergies to pine sol 😦 it works great on countertops. I can’t say enough good things about it.

  4. Sandra says:

    I’ve tried that cleaner in my shower before, it works pretty well, except for the hard water deposits which are horrible here in Arizona.

    Hope you have a good week 🙂

  5. Dackel says:

    I’ve been trying to train my eyes to track so that I can once again read. With all of my eye problems, I have not read a book since the last Harry Potter book came out (and that was a real challenge.) and I must train these eyes of mine to accept reading again.

  6. Amy says:

    I have used the blue Dawn dish liquid + hot vinegar in a spray bottle to clean my shower…and I’ll have to say that it works pretty well and leaves the glass door super clean and sparkly! It did not take the hard water spots off the metal part around the door (we have extremely hard water around here!) but on the glass and tile it did well…and is probably cheaper than bathroom cleaner.

Comments are closed.