Hodge Podge – 10/3/2012

It is time again to join Joyce and Friends for HodgePodge Wednesday!!  🙂

1. It’s a brand new month…share one thing you’re looking forward to in October.

Well, the thing I love the most about October is happening RIGHT NOW:  cool, crispy yet sunny days!  I’m also hoping to take a day off for the Columbus Day holiday … and/or go to a family reunion with some of Dan’s cousins we haven’t seen in too long of a time!

2. Is chivalry dead? Explain.

I think in the eyes of this generation as a whole, it is dead.  😦  I am currently reading a book called QUIET (The Power of Introverts in a World that Can’t Stop Talking) by Susan Cain … it is fascinating, by the way (and not just for introverts!).  Anyway, she was talking about the shift in the 1920s and 1930s from considering chivalry and genteel-ness and kindness and selflessness to be much less important than assertiveness, appearances, getting-ahead, and climbing that proverbial ladder by stepping on those too slow to keep up with the ever-evolving society.  It was during the time that Hollywood began to have such influence because who but suave actors and gorgeous actresses more represented what “success” was.  Her point was more to say this was the time when extroversion became the desired personality trait and people like Dale Carnegie began to talk about “How to Make Friends and Influence People” … And we lost some of the that gentle kindness in society as a whole.

That said, I know chivalry is NOT dead in my little sphere of the world … I am married to a man who is teaching our son to be a gentleman and to stand up when he shakes hands with an adult and to look people in the eye and to open a door for a lady (whether she wants him to or not!  ha!).  When we walk on a sidewalk, my husband always walks on the outside, by the street … something his dad taught him – a concept stemming from the days when a gentleman had to protect his lady from the mud of the streets and the potential of a run-away carriage hurting her … So, I am hopeful that glimmers of chivalry yet do live!!

3. On October 2, 1950 the Peanuts comic strip made its debut. Which character is your favorite? Which character is most like you? (Charlie Brown, Lucy, Linus, Shroeder, Snoopy, Woodstock, or Pig Pen) If you need a description click here .

No description needed … I have been told often – by my children even, who love and read Peanuts comic strips/books – that I am LUCY.  Sad but true … and yes, I do see it so I’m not too offended.  And I’d have to say she IS my favorite anyway!!

4. What’s something you’re competitive about?

Truthfully, not much.  That’s why I stink at sports … I really don’t care if I win, I just hope the game is over soon so I can go home.  I do like to win a board game … but even so, I don’t really care if I win or lose – I just don’t want anyone’s feelings hurt.  I can’t even begin to imagine what I might say I am competitive about – there isn’t much I’m good at or compete in … and even things like “having more than the Jones’ ” isn’t even an issue nor is comparing my kids to someone else’s … I know my kids are great!   😉  Wow, I guess I really am pretty wishy-washy afterall … maybe I have a little Charlie Brown in me??!

5. October is National Popcorn Popping Month…are you a fan? How do you like your popcorn?

Well, besides movie popcorn with butter, at home, we like Homestyle.  I am sure it is not the most calorie-conscious but it sure tastes good to me.

6. When did you first realize the world is small?

When we started moving around with the military … After a while, after a few duty stations, we began to run into the same people, especially those in the Medical Service Corps which my husband was in … or we’d run into people who knew people we knew.

The other is in our church denomination – there are only so many Bible colleges affiliated with it and people tend to know the more prestigious (for lack of better word) pastors and leaders.  At most churches we have been to in the last almost-20 years of marriage (and that’s about 7 or 8), we’ve always run into either someone we know (which also has to do with most being around military posts) or someone who knows someone we know.

7. In terms of architecture, what’s the most beautiful building you’ve seen up close and in person?

Well, having lived and traveled in Europe, I can say I’ve seen SO MANY beautiful buildings I can’t even narrow it down to just one … but even so, here in the US, I have seen some beautiful buildings in cities like Chicago or St. Louis … and places like the Biltmore Estate in Asheville or the Hearst Family Estate in California.

8. Insert your own random thought here.

(this graphic that I’m using on my facebook page seemed appropriate for today!)

This entry was posted in Hodge Podge. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Hodge Podge – 10/3/2012

  1. Dackel says:

    And a Happy October to you too! Actually, October and November are my favorite months!

  2. Susan says:

    Love your Snoopy graphic. The Peanuts gang always makes me smile. And I’m a Lucy too. 🙂
    Have a great day.

  3. April says:

    So great to see that you’re back with us! 🙂 Oh, I love the Biltmore Estate…that place is huge and the gardens are spectacular, to say the least! A big HAPPY OCTOBER to you, as well!

  4. Joyce says:

    I was always amazed that you could be in the teeniest tiniest English village in the middle of seemingly nowhere, but they would still have a beautiful church.

    Love that Snoopy graphic…he’s one of those characters who make you happy just looking at him!

  5. veronica says:

    Ha! Love that Snoopy picture 🙂 And that book sounds very interesting. I think the world would be much better off if more fathers taught their sons about chivalry – good for you guys 🙂

  6. Judy Loeffler says:

    I am a “Lucy” too.

Comments are closed.