Memory Lane, Part 1

wedding 1992

In a little over 2 months, Daniel and I will be celebrating our 20th anniversary.   I am going through our ga-zillion photo albums so I can scan some pictures for a (hopefully) photo book of our years together thus far (December 1992 – December 2012).  I thought I’d share some of my memories here on my blog:

20 years ago, we were JUST KIDS!!  But really, we were recent college graduates; he was an Army officer … We’d had some jobs and some experiences already under our belts, and yet, we know now WE WERE JUST KIDS!  Smile

Kids in love …  Kids who went from being acquaintances to friends to dating to engaged to married in the span of a whirl wind year.   A boy born in Iowa and a girl born in Germany … brought together by God at a small Bible college in Chattanooga, Tennessee.

We started out married life somewhere I never thought I’d ever see, let alone LIVE THERE – Monterey, California.  Being within driving distance of Carmel, San Francisco, Los Angeles, San Diego, and the Sequoia National Park was like a 3 month honeymoon adventure during the brief period Daniel was stationed at Ft. Ord before it was closed in mid-1993.   From our little studio apartment on the Army post (that cost us over $500/month in rent – very expensive for the time!!), we could see the Pacific Ocean.  Dan ran on its beaches on many a early morning for his company’s PT exercises.

Carmel, CA 1992

(Carmel Beach, CA – Feb 1993)

In March/April 1993, Dan’s unit (the 9th Infantry Regiment/7th Infantry Division – “the Manchus” ) transitioned to its new home at Ft. Lewis in yet another place I never imagined I’d see, let alone be a resident of:  Washington State.

We lived in Washington for a little over 2 years.

Dec 1993

(1 year anniversary, December 1993)

In Washington, I got my first-ever full-time job as a receptionist/dispatcher and accounts receivable clerk for a small office equipment sales and repair office.  I experienced my first real Army wife duties at Family Readiness Group (FRG) meetings and officer wives’ teas (which had nothing to do with TEA) and monthly hail-and-farewells … I endured my first field problems where Dan was gone to train for weeks at a time to places like the desert (“sand box”) of Ft. Irwin in the Mojave and the vast sandiness of Yakima, WA (western Washington State which is completely different than the “evergreen” side the state is known for!) … and barely escaped Daniel’s deployment to Somalia that came to a sudden halt due to the “Black Hawk Down” incident in November of 1993 in Mogadishu when then-President Clinton ordered all US troop deployments to cease.

I attended several friends’ weddings back “home” in Tennessee and in NY state.  We also traveled to Miami to meet up with my German aunt and uncle who were vacationing there – and explored the Everglades and Pensacola and drove all the way to Tennessee to see my family before returning all the way across the country again!

1994

^2 year anniversary time frame – late 1994 (our birthdays)

From our (2 bedroom/2 bath!!) apartment in Lacey, Washington (that cost just barely more per month than our California studio), outside of the capital city of Olympia, we could see Mt. Rainier in the distance most days as we drove to work or off on another exploring adventure of the Pacific Northwest.  We had just 2 “short” years to see the Olympics and the Cascades and to go to adjoining Oregon and Canada (Vancouver and Victoria), visit towns called Sequim, Skykomish, Wenatchee, and Forks!, and of course, explore Mt. Rainier National Park’s many splendors.  We had a neat little church family there … and Dan even took a seminary class (which I audited just so I could be with him) at Northwest Baptist Seminary in Tacoma.

And yes, it does rain A LOT in Washington State … but it sure is GREEN … at least on the Western side.  Smile

More about 1995 and beyond coming …

cordelia sig

This entry was posted in Memory Lane. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Memory Lane, Part 1

  1. Sandra says:

    What a cute post…and you really haven’t changed much at all 🙂

  2. Dackel says:

    You have not changed very much at all! Still as sweet and beautiful as you were then!

  3. Mrs. Freida says:

    Thank you so much for letting me know about your blog change! I had just looked at it last night and told Rebekah “Oh No! I can’t see her blog anymore”. The Lord is good He knew I needed to see you again :). Thanks for the memories!

  4. melanie says:

    {Um, that would be YOUR comments/narrative, not my comments… just to clarify 😉 }

  5. melanie says:

    Yay for you! Amber tells me that shutterfly *always* has a good special in late November, so just keep plugging away! Make sure you add all this commentary to your book too : )

Comments are closed.