Livin’ a Dream–in my Nightmare …

DSC01276

Tonight (Friday), I am doing what I’ve always dreamed about doing…

I’m staying in the room pictured above – alone.  No kids, not even a husband … it is MINE, all MINE.  The bed, all its pillows, and the duvet – MINE.  I don’t have to share with anyone …

DSC01278

The desk corner, it is mine too…

DSC01280

I don’t have to yield the TV remote to anyone … no sports – and I have the Food Channel and HGTV … MY channels. 

DSC01279

The crazy big bathroom is mine too – 2 sinks to pick from.

Unfortunately, I just checked in at 1:30 a.m. … and it was out of necessity not so much pleasure.  It was one of the last hotel rooms in this area … and after driving around, I finally got the (supposed) last room at this hotel.  It wasn’t the simple little room I wanted for a few hours’ sleep … but who knows if I’ll sleep at all, so I’m going to just enjoy these few minutes.

I am here because of this thing:

DSC01275

That’s  a FOOT in case you can’t tell!!!  My hubby’s poor, painful foot.  Sad smile 

This was after a procedure to put all the dislocated bones back into place … This poor foot is facing some surgery in a few hours … and MORE surgery in a few weeks after the worst of the swelling is (hopefully) gone down. 

Yeh, it’s a pretty bad injury … in fact, the surgeon told me today that he will make Daniel’s foot/ankle/leg “good” but it will never be “perfect” again … This means no more construction work for my husband … and it probably means no Army Reserves for him either.  But it also means God has something else in mind for my husband right now … like a lot of lying around with his foot elevated, no driving, and eventually hours of physical therapy each week.  (and praise the Lord for worker’s comp!!!)

That’s what happens when you fall about 20 feet with a ladder while painting 2 story high windows.  And we echo what many have already told us – we are blessed that it was only a foot and not a neck or worse …

It has been a long day – the injury occurred around 10 a.m. – and after an ambulance ride to a local hospital, Daniel got another ambulance ride to a major university medical center in a big city about 2 hours from our home.  His tibia is so shattered and splintered at the ankle bone that the ortho-doctor at the small hospital said he wouldn’t touch it!   We are thankful for all the wonderful, kind people who have helped us today – of course, the medical staff (one nurse who helped us locally went to a Christian college we visited about a year ago with our Christian school kids in Pensacola, FL – small world!), neighbor/friends who kept our kids, family who has called, our pastor who came by to pray with us before transport to the big city, and messages via facebook and email and text. 

It’s going to be ok.  I really believe it!  God knew this was going to happen – and He knows best and He knows why.  And so we continue to trust Him …

blog sig

This entry was posted in Bless His Heart, Family. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Livin’ a Dream–in my Nightmare …

  1. Pingback: Quiet Day #5 | An Ordinary Hausfrau

  2. Mrs. D says:

    Talk about God closing and opening doors. I’m so sorry Dan is in so much pain. I pray the surgeons will have wisdom and skill beyond measure and also for you that you will be comforted to know that God is in this too.
    Love you guys and am praying for you as is our fellowship.

  3. Michelle says:

    Oh no! Praying for a speedy recovery!

  4. melanie says:

    Oh, yes – Praise the Lord for workman’s comp! I wondered if you’d have any coverage right now. Praying for you… Thankful for our faithful God.

    {{hugs}} to you, my friend!

  5. Sandra says:

    How awful Conny. Been praying!

  6. Tina H. says:

    Oh, my. Here I was going to congratulate you at having a weekend to yourself…but then I kept reading. Wow. I’ll be praying for the recovery process, beginning with the surgery. Did friends at home take your kids?

  7. charla says:

    Oh, no! I am so, so sorry! You will all definitely be in my prayers. And yes, thank goodness for workman’s comp!

    (I’m really glad you are back, BTW). 🙂

  8. Renee says:

    Praying for your dhs recovery

  9. sarahronk541 says:

    Oh my!! I don’t know what to say! I’m sooo sorry! Praying for you all! What a great attitude and perspective tho!

  10. Dackel says:

    OMG! How terrible! I find it is so un-nerving when these things happen to a family member. If it’s me, I seem to handle the stress okay, but I hate to see my family in pain. You all will be in my prayers. Please keep me posted.

Comments are closed.