Observations from the vinyl “recliner” hospital chair:

I will say the nurses try … I’ve got a blanket and a pillow and promises that the nurses will be super quiet when they come in to check on Dan, which are all wonderful gestures.

But reality is, this chair is not all that comfortable (especially compared to where I was sleeping last night!!!).  I wish they had snuck (sneaked?  I can never get that one right!) me an Ambien when they gave Daniel one a while ago.  🙂

My Daniel, God bless him … He has had quite the day.  He was prepped for surgery very early this morning, he thinks around 6:45.  He nor I are sure when he began surgery – but I showed up at the hospital around 9 a.m. and by 10:45, I was given the report he was in recovery.  I guess it took him a while to wake up – and all the nursing staff took a lunch break (joking!!) – but he wasn’t in his room until 1:00 p.m.-ish

BUT he looked great; the nurse said he did great too.  Sadly, I wasn’t told I could wait in a certain surgical waiting area for Daniel’s surgery … and so the doctor didn’t know where to find me to talk to me.  😦  hopefully we’ll get the whole story when he makes his rounds some day soon?!??!

It is, however, pretty obvious what they did with Daniel’s foot (picture below – there is no blood – but it is Daniel’s foot with rods in them … don’t scroll if you’re squeamish):

…..

….

….

….

Daniel’s ankle is supposed to stay very still … and really, I think this contraption will do the trick as I don’t think it will be giving way at all!

Modern medicine is SO amazing though, isn’t it??!

We shall see what tomorrow holds for us (I’m guessing it isn’t a discharge from the hospital).  But for now, I’m going to try to get some sleep in my vinyl “recliner “hospital chair.

This entry was posted in Bless His Heart. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Observations from the vinyl “recliner” hospital chair:

  1. Pingback: HHM – 10/6/2014 | An Ordinary Hausfrau

  2. Pingback: When God Turns Your Frown Upside Down | An Ordinary Hausfrau

  3. Pingback: Quiet Day #5 | An Ordinary Hausfrau

  4. Sara H says:

    Oh my goodness. I just read your other post too. I will be praying for you guys.

  5. Angie says:

    I just came back from a 4 day retreat and caught up on your blog/life! Oh, my! I’m so sorry this has happened, but you seem to be doing pretty well. My continued prayers are with you! When it rains, it pours, but the Lord is with you and will see you through! Thank you for the updates!

  6. melanie says:

    Ugh, I spent a 24-hour observation stay in one of those chairs with MY Daniel when he was a newborn. I’ll be praying YOU get better accommodations soon.. and continue to pray for your Dan to mend quickly and well.

  7. Amy says:

    Praying daily for Daniel’s recovery! And hugs to you!

  8. Dackel says:

    When Jack had his knees replaced, (Two hospital stays) the hospital had an arrangement with two motels near the hospital. I stayed there with the dogs, and got to the hospital each day by 6:30 AM. (Doctors are either very early or very late!) I stayed all the time because I felt Jack got better care from me, than from the nurses, who would put off his sponge baths each day. Poor hubby got a salt burn on his back the first time because he got an undetected fever, and was sweating like a racehorse! After that, I got to the hospital and after his breakfast I would bathe him, and insist an LPN do the sheets! I’m sure the staff was happy when Jack was discharged! And I went home!!! lol!
    Be sure to get a good night sleep, my dear. I am praying for you and for your family, and hoping all will be okay! Hugs!!!

  9. Renee says:

    Ouch ouch ouch – that was my concern when Theresa broke her elbow. Thankfully her pins are internal. Continued prayers….

Comments are closed.