Hodge Podge – 10/10/12

Joining Joyce and friends for HodgePodge yet again:
1.  In what ways do you indulge yourself?

I don’t hesitate to take myself out to eat – I figure it is cheaper for me to eat out alone (or with a friend or my husband) than to have to buy for my family of 5.  Yeh, selfish … but food is my love language.  My kids would just as soon have a $1 burger from Wendy’s anyway!!

2.  Have you ever taken a cooking class?  Any interest?  What type of class would you most like to try?

Maybe ……… I am just now learning to cook in the last few years.  It really all began with my neighbor when we were stationed in Germany with the Army.  Actually BOTH my neighbors were registered dieticians and amazing cooks!  Ever since then, I’ve tried to learn to cook beyond the soup mixes and boxed hamburger helper!  I’d love to have a cooking class with Ree Drummond, I think (more for the fun factor than anything else).

3. What does it mean to be a good citizen?

Obey the law, lookout for your neighbor, and clean up your little part of the world.

4.  ‘Tis the season of the political advert…do these ads influence your vote?

Nope.  Nor do the ga-billion political phone calls we are getting.

5.  What’s something you see today that makes you wish you were a kid again?

The fact that my kids can drop whatever they are doing and go to bed whenever they want to (or don’t want to) makes me wish I were a kid again.  Today I wanted to take a nap -a  simple nap … but then I heard MiMi say she was “stinky” – and considering my husband’s leg is currently immobilized because he shattered his tibia last week, I knew it was on me to change that diaper.  THEN after I settled into my comfy spot … again … the phone rang!!  Ok, it was a political call … and then it rang AGAIN, someone to let me know the tires we’d ordered for our car were in.  By this time, MiMi was beating on my bedroom door, shouting, “Let me in!  Let me in!” … and so I let her in, and I went out and just went ahead and did the dishes … because they needed to get done.

6.  What’s your least favorite cliche?

“It’s no use crying over spilt milk.”  Well, sometimes a person just need a good cry!!!  It doesn’t change the fact that the mik spilled or that the carpet is wet … but the tears kind of cleanse away the tension and give you a moment to re-group before you tackle the mess!
7.  What percentage of your Christmas shopping has been completed?  How does that make you feel?

none … and I’m ok with that.  🙂

8.  Insert your own random thought here:

In every situation, we do need to try to look for silver linings … My husband fell about 20 feet off a ladder last Friday.  He could have broken his neck or been paralyzed … but instead he dislocated his ankle and shattered his tibia (leg bone) into what our ortho-surgeron said was “the third worst injury he’s seen in all his years of practicing medicine in the state of Missouri.”  Congratulations to Daniel!!  🙂

As you all “Hodge Podge” next Wednesday, we’ll be driving up to the university medical center, 2 hours from our home, for surgery #2 which will hopefully happen on Thursday morning to attempt to fix the shards of bones in hubby’s leg and have a plate or two and some pins put in to hold it together.  Ironically, this surgery on October 18 is 14 years TO THE DAY that my husband underwent an ACL and meniscus repair on his knee!  I certainly hope October 18, 2026 has nothing to do with orthopedics in any way!!

 

This entry was posted in Hodge Podge. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Hodge Podge – 10/10/12

  1. joyouslyredeemed says:

    So are you home now? Been praying for you guys. Maybe, since it’s the third worst injury the guy’s seen, he’ll use him as an educational tool? Maybe there’s a job in it? 😉

    Oh, and the older I get, the more I cry over spilt milk. 🙂

  2. jodaley says:

    Oh my gosh, what a nightmare! I hope all goes well with the surgery today. I’ve heard that is also one of the most painful breaks. Take care!

  3. Dackel says:

    I am going out today to eat lunch with a girlfriend! How is your Hubby’s pain level? Is he doing okay? I think of you both often and pray that his pain is not too great!
    Hugs!!!

  4. Nani says:

    Sending good thoughts and prayers for your husband’s surgery…and for 2026! But I totally appreciate your silver lining mindset.

    I love going out to eat alone now and then! Just me, a book and waitstaff taking care of me and doing all the dishes. Ah! Yes, it’s something we all need once in a while!

  5. Sandra says:

    I like to eat out, but I prefer with the family, I just don’t like eating out by myself 🙂

    And I think I am seriously, the only person on the planet who can’t stand The Pioneer Woman, she is just so fake to me. But oh well LOL

    Hope you have a fantastic Wednesday 🙂

  6. melanie says:

    So thankful for Caller ID, but still looking forward to a quieter life post-Election Day 😀
    {while praying for God to have mercy on our country that day!}

    Maybe you could shut the ringer off next time you need that power nap?

  7. Mary says:

    I remember those days when the boys were little, of being so tired and just wanting to take a nap. This too, shall pass! (another cliche??) I’ve done 0% of shopping, too. I haven’t even thought about it!

  8. Marla says:

    Oh my! I’m so sorry to hear about your husband’s fall and hope his surgery is successful, and recovery quick! You will be busy with him for awhile I think. FYI: Get Caller ID and you never have to answer a political call again! I rarely answer my phone anymore unless I recognize the name or number.

  9. I too like to eat out on occasion or at least stop and get something to bring home. No cooking, no mess to clean up. That is a great indulgence.
    Hope all goes well for your hubby and he is on the mend real soon.

Comments are closed.