Happy Homemaker Monday–10/22/2012

HHMfall

It has been a while since I’ve been able to join Sandra for H-H-M:

THE WEATHER:::

It’s 65 degrees this late morning.   A beautiful, sunny, autumn day.

RIGHT NOW I AM:::

Just taking it easy … My 2 big kids are at a Leadership Conference at our church/Christian school for the day.  NO SCHOOL!!

THINKING:::

It is actually going to be kind of a busy week – at least for us homebodies! 

Today the kids are gone – tomorrow we are back to sports practices to include team pictures sometime in the morning.  Wednesday our church choir kids perform for the church service, and we’ll have a party afterwards.  Thursday and Friday, our big kids will be at their first tournament of this season for basketball and volleyball (again, NO SCHOOL).  Somewhere in there, we need to do a bunch of school work … although I’m finding the joy of home school being we can adapt to our schedules!   Smile

ON MY READING PILE:::

I hope I finish up the book of Ezekiel in my read-thru-the-Bible soon – it is a little tedious.

Also reading a Lilian Jackson Braun Cat Who book, continuing through that series.

Also reading QUIET by Susan Cain for review.

ON MY TV:::

Since my husband is home, it is FoxNews and/or ESPN … actually we are happy that our St. Louis Cardinals are still in the running for the National League title and potentially the WORLD SERIES?!!

ON THE MENU:::

I haven’t had to do much cooking lately as we have had several meals delivered to us from friends!!  However, this week I need to get back on the ball and start cooking!   Will work on my menu later today.

ON MY TO-DO LIST:::

Need to make some phone calls for business stuff … Thank you cards to write … Packing up some of Miriam’s outgrown clothes to send to a friend. 

HOMEMAKING TIPS:::

Right now, I don’t have anything innovative to share … unless you want to hear what I’m learning about caring for a homebound patient.  Smile 

LOOKING AROUND MY HOUSE:::

It’s not too bad … I need to work through the stack of homeschool papers that my kids left me from Thursday and Friday while I was at the hospital with Daniel (Daniel’s parents stayed with our kids, here at our house, which was such a blessing!).

FROM THE CAMERA:::

This is the orthopedic surgeon’s drawing of all the work he did on my husband’s tibia and fibula the last 2 surgeries (2 plates and many, many pins inserted as well as bone fractures cleaned up):

DSC01321

ON MY PRAYER LIST:::

My husband had a second surgery last Thursday to repair to repair his broken leg … He is doing well but has some pain.  He is also still unemployed (there are 2 jobs that we really, really, really think would be great which he was rated as “eligible” for – now we are just waiting to hear if he’ll get called for an interview). 

blog sig

This entry was posted in Happy Homemaker. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Happy Homemaker Monday–10/22/2012

  1. Sandra says:

    That’s the thing I most love about homeschool, being able to make our own schedules 🙂
    Your poor husband, I can’t even imagine how hard this must be for him, praying for a quick recovery.

  2. I’m sorry about your hubby! But that is so awesome that a few friends were able to get together and make yall so many meals! Good luck with the kiddos still playing sports! I’m so happy for mine when they do well, but selfishly I pray it will go quickly, haha

    Hope you have a great week!

  3. Kat says:

    So sorry about your husband’s leg. Prayers for your family!

  4. Tina Leigh says:

    Oh my I am sorry to hear about your husband’s leg…Im new to your blog (and I have got to add so many to google reader that I found by HHM!). Came by way of Sandra. No fun!!! Well I sure hope the job situation will not be affected by the leg. Goodness…prayers to you and your family!

  5. Jen B. says:

    When I read through the books of the Bible that are a bit more challenging I try to think of how they could apply to me today. Especially when I am reading through the books of the Law.

    Praying for your husband’s leg. Sounds like it was a pretty horrible injury.

Comments are closed.