Beautiful October

mioct2012-1

Lately all I’ve talked about is my husband’s surgery … and while his recovery has pretty much CONSUMED our lives as such, we are enjoying the lovely weather and the beautiful trees that this October has brought us!

Due to the drought in Missouri this summer, it was possible that the trees wouldn’t be as colorful as usual (guess water and foliage are connected somehow?!) … but we are still getting quite a show here in the Land of the Ozarks. 

mioct2012-2

This past Saturday, my kids and I were invited to a birthday party.  And as Daniel assured me he’d be fine for a few hours, we went … and while I really just wanted to stay in my jammies all day, I was glad we made the effort.  It was good for the kids to get out and play … and it was nice for me to be among friends.  The kids played outside as much as possible since the day was so gorgeous, and MiMi entertained herself, just sitting under a tree, playing with leaves, watching the big kids. 

mioct2012-3

“ROARRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!!!”  Surprised smile

I’ve noticed there are lots of fallen leaves to rake soon, and this lovely season will be over … and we’ll head into the season I dread most – WINTER Sad smile  Maybe we’ll get snowed in a lot!!  That I do like! 

BUT before we hit the gray, dreary days of winter, I do enjoy November too.  Since 2009, I have hosted a “30 Days of Thanks” in November … and while I do this mainly for myself, to focus on the good things in my life and to remember my blessings, I invite others to join in – if not daily, then at least occasionally, if so inclined. 

nov_thanks271

blog sig

This entry was posted in MiMi, thankfulness. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Beautiful October

  1. Tina Leigh says:

    I love the pictures…I bet it is beautiful up there!!

  2. Dackel says:

    I was going nuts yesterday here, there and everywhere. Today I’m going to try to convince Hubby to go grocery shop with me. I want to get stocked up on meal type shelf items before the election. Our prices have been soaring lately, and so I need to plan ahead.

  3. Angie says:

    You got outside! I didn’t make it yesterday, but will today. The Ozarks are beautiful any time of year, but I’m sure especially in the autumn.

    The 30 Days of Thanks looks awesome. I would love to participate!

Comments are closed.