Hodge Podge–10/24/2012

Joining Joyce and Friends again today for Hodge Podge!

1. So, do you like beer?

No.
2. What’s your least favorite repetitive task?

Folding laundry.  Close second and related task is ironing.  I’m ok on washing and drying … but then I get stuck!
3. When was the last time you rode a bus? Where was it headed?

Well, if it counts, it was the bus/trolley/train that takes one to and from the parking lot to Silver Dollar City’s amusement park in Branson, Missouri.

4. What song from your childhood or from your own children’s childhood could make a parent’s nerves stand on end?

I don’t know about my parents, but Shari and Lambie’s song “This is the song that never ends … oh, it goes on and on my friend …” tops my list of ON THE NERVES songs.
5. The US Presidential election cycle is drawing to a close (can I get an AMEN??), and the third and final debate was held last night…what was the last thing you ‘debated about’?

I hate to debate … I stink at it and usually lose.  HOWEVER, you will hate me for a while if I am ever right!!  Winking smile

I can’t really think of the last time I debated with someone.  I would say it might have been on the virtues of how to manage a home school day with one of my kids who doesn’t share my opinion that if you just press on and get things done efficiently, you can enjoy the rest of the day.  This particular child of mine would rather stop numerous times to get a drink, watch some of the cartoon her sister is watching, get another drink, stop to mention the fleeting thought that just crossed her mind, get another drink, go to the bathroom, curl her hair, get a snack … and while she eventually gets done with school work, it is much much later than her brother who – like me – just stays focused on the task at hand until it is done.

6. Can a person make too much money? How much is too much?

Can’t say this is something I’ve ever thought of … I guess I’ve been pretty much concentrated on just making enough money to live on.  Ummmm, not sure if someone can make TOO MUCH – because who is to say what “too much” is???!  I don’t know.  Pass.
7. Pop-soda-coke-something else…what’s it called where you live?

I don’t even know what they call it here where I live … I didn’t grow up here and so I guess I never paid attention.  Where I grew up in East Tennessee, we always asked for a “coke” … as in “What kind of coke would you like?”

My husband is from Iowa … they called it “pop”.
8. Insert your own random thought here.

Getting weary … but trying to remain thankful and optimistic!  My husband broke his leg badly on October 5th – we’ve now gone through 2 surgeries … and are waiting for his November 8th follow-up to see if he can start using his foot as “weight bearing”. Meanwhile, he’s just kind of “laid up” … which is hard on him (first time in 20 years that he has NOTHING to do and NOWHERE to go) and the  rest of us.  He is a great patient though, and he is longsuffering with me too as I take my time getting around to his sponge baths and things he’d probably like to see happen a whole lot sooner.  Thank goodness for books, TV, and the internet/lap top!  But still, I know he’d rather be out and about and working!!

This entry was posted in Hodge Podge. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hodge Podge–10/24/2012

  1. Wow, a lot has been going on since my last visit. I bet your husband is going stir crazy. I always called it POP, but somehow say soda-pop more frequently as the I have gotten older. Have no idea why! Take care!
    Blessings,
    Susie

  2. jodaley says:

    I can’t imagine my hubs laid up for that amount of time. I’m sure it’s been challenging : )

  3. Nani says:

    Tennessee is where I decided that I would make myself drop the word “pop” and go with the more universal soda because I asked a teen in Tennessee, when I was just a little older than a teen myself, in a convenience store where the pop was. He was very confused and asked me to repeat the question. I said “I want a pop.” He asked, “You want me to pop you??” Very serious, he had no idea what I wanted. When I said a Coke or a Pepsi, he sent me in the right direction. I figured if I was going to travel the country, I needed some better understood language. Of course, thanks to the internet, everyone knows what a pop is! 🙂

    Best wishes to your husband for recovery and keeping his sanity as he finishes recovering!

  4. Dackel says:

    Glad that Dan is home and at least you can keep an eye on him! You know, keep him out of trouble! 😉

Comments are closed.