Father of Lights–A Review

Father-of-Lights-Secondary-Page-Design2

Today my husband and I sat down to watch a very thought-provoking DVD, Father of Lights, produced by Darren Wilson of Wanderlust Productions.  The DVD cover asks, “If God could be filmed, what would He look like?”  … and what I saw was somewhat unexpected.  I will give you my review after all the preliminary “stuff” required of a movie review.

(My initial reaction upon reading what you are about to read was mostly nervousness about what I had gotten myself into … but if you’ll bear through this part, I am excited to share what I learned through this documentary.)

FATHER OF LIGHTS chronicles the journey of filmmaker Darren Wilson and his team as they fearlessly travel the globe, far from the daily existence of the typical evangelical believer in the West. By thoughtfully documenting the stories of extraordinary believers and candidly filming miracles, visions and other supernatural occurrences, Wilson engages viewers in modern day examples of the true nature and character of God.

Wilson gives honest access to his own spiritual questions as he tackles the religious misconceptions he has struggled with throughout his life. “I went into making this film by asking the simple question: who is God? I wanted to know His character, His personality, and who He truly is. To answer this question, we had to peel back the many layers of religious garbage that has been passed onto him through generations. That He is angry. Vengeful. Wrathful. And in general, that He doesn’t like you very much. The truth, as you will see vibrantly in this film, is that He is the most loving, compassionate, and wonderful Father you can imagine.”

About Wanderlust Productions

Wanderlust Productions is a video production company focusing on creating content for various media that highlights, informs, and is designed to spiritually stretch our audience. Created by Darren Wilson, Professor at Judson University, Wanderlust’s focus is on telling stories that inspire and agitate, that are unwavering in their honesty yet are emotionally compelling. While our content will always be Christian in nature, we are not afraid to explore themes, concepts, or areas that may be considered “risky” by the Christian establishment. Wanderlust prides itself on its willingness to put the story above the message. That being said, the message will never waver.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

MY REVIEW:

So, this film put me out of my comfort zone … In fact, my husband and I decided to NOT have our children watch the film with us even though it is a “Christian” documentary as there are themes in it that we just aren’t familiar with … like sharing Jesus with people at a NYC night club or witnessing to the self-proclaimed “freaks” on Venice Beach in California (there are also scenes of healings and prayers for personal prosperity, which without wanting to judge anyone who participates in these things, we just don’t practice personally).  And yet, as we watched with an open mind, we realized that Jesus works in many ways and through many people – not just the nicely dressed ones in our denomination who carry their nice study Bibles to Sunday School each week and wouldn’t dare to enter an establishment considered “sinful” or “wicked”. 

Again, keeping an open mind, we watched on … and learned of people who like this former bank vice president who got a hold of Jesus and sold all he had … and with a few suitcases, his wife and 3 children moved to China to serve God.  He ended up establishing an orphanage for disabled children who are considered “undesirable” … and to hear these people talk about how they LIVE OUT their pro-life stand – believing that because of God, all life is valuable, the tears just streamed down my face.  I can’t imagine this … and yet, these people have done this – because they LOVE as Jesus loved – the lame, the blind, the orphan and the widow: 

father-of-lights-teaser-featured-image-220x122

There is a somewhat strange Christian man in India who says God speaks to Him (again, out of my comfort zone) … but God told him to find a man in orange with a white beard … and he found this man – a maharaja, a guru:

Maharishi-220x122

And this guru, not much different than the Ethiopian eunuch in his chariot in the desert in the book of Acts, was seeking God … the TRUE God .. the REAL God … not just this god of Rowana (?) that he was dedicated to serve by his parents as an infant – a god who expected him to be perfect.  And because of the God-appointed meeting of these 2 men, a Christian and a Hindu, this guru prayed to receive Christ and now shares Jesus with all his followers! 

There’s more – so much more … what I think impacted me most was hearing and seeing the persecuted Christians from Iraq, Pakistan, and other places give testimony, showing the burns and wounds that had been afflicted on them because they would not recant believing in Jesus Christ.  One man said it best:  there is a conflicted church and a comfortable church.  The conflicted church are the persecuted ones; they are strong, hold together, and would DIE for Jesus willingly – and have suffered for His name’s sake.  The comfortable church is climate-controlled, contented, often judging and devouring each other instead of unifying and loving each other, and not willing to attend or do anything that might inconvenience them. 

The overwhelming theme of the DVD is God’s love … God loved us while we were yet sinners and loves us still when we become saved sinners.   While He must judge sin and those who reject His son (a theme also mentioned in this DVD), His love is such a predominant part of His character and much of the New Testament seeks to explain it to us.  I’m not so sure I even yet still fully comprehend it …

I am giving away a copy of this DVD if you’d like to see it for yourself.  Just leave a comment – and I’ll choose a winner on November 3 (Saturday). 

You can also find out more about Father of Lights and Wanderlust Productions (they have 2 other DVDs out already) via facebook and Darren on twitter. 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

blog sig

This entry was posted in give away, Love, reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Father of Lights–A Review

  1. Armin says:

    Dear LoriG, In the movie Darren says that the Indian preacher hears God’s audible voice, calling it a special gift of the Holy Spirit (or a gift from God the Father). That would be different from having a conversation with God in prayer through an inner voice, an inner moving of the Holy Spirit, bible verses or other “silent” ways in which God speaks to us. In my church environment God speaks to most of my brothers and sisters (those who hear Him) through an inner voice, or thoughts. I have inner conversations, sometimes long ones, with the Lord. However, I have been wrong at times, but very few alas. That’s why we have to know Him and learn to know Him, in order not to be deceived by the angel of light. Of course knowing the Word of God is key, but the process is like learning to know a friend we only know from the phone, so to say. As a former filmmaker I know how easily the medium can deceive a viewer – each and everything can be presented as fact. So, although I believe that Darren Wilson is a very integer, faithful and excellent filmmaker, every believer still needs to discern the Holy Spirit for him or herself, like when someone in a movie says he hears the voice of God, and then tells us what God said. I guess we all can remember bad surprises within the Body of Christ, where someone seemed so genuine but at some point delivered bad fruit. Especially in the US, where so many things are media-driven, people can fall for false Gospels just because someone says something, the behind-the-scenes-life of whom they don’t know. Imho that’s what Cordelia meant when saying, “out of my comfort zone”. You don’t meet audible-voice-of-God-hearers every day. Even Derek Prince, when he met his wife to be Ruth, it took both of them months of prayer and confirmation to finally marry each other. They didn’t go by just one quiet time and hearing an inner voice. I guess that’s what Cordelia meant, to be sober and vigilant – ESPECIALLY when the gift seems to work so easily. It worked easily in William Branham or Alexander Dowie – at the end they fell, and caused a lot of damage for thousands of believers trusting in their gifts. However, I love Americans for putting all this fantastic material out in a language I can understand. Where would I be today without you – Be wonderfully blessed by our great God, Love from Berlin, In Jesus, Armin

  2. LoriG says:

    I really love your thoughts. I came across your blog trying to find some quotes of the movie. I am different from you in that this movie isn’t out of my comfort zone as I’ve experienced some of these things personally. I do have one question for you, you say in your “about you” that you have a personal relationship with God and that’s awesome! But then you say, “a man in India who says God speaks to him (again, out of my comfort zone)”. How do you relate the two? Does this mean you don’t hear God’s voice? I guess I don’t believe a relationship is only one-sided. Not trying to be confrontational at all, I’m just curious.

  3. Mary Espinosa Hewitt says:

    i am opening up my home tonite to a group to show this dvd, a friend of mine owns it and offered to show it. I would love to have this dvd to show everyone that will watch it, it’s like gold i want to share it with everyone.

  4. Anna Hansson says:

    Hi Cordelia, Thank you for sharing. I would love to receive that DVD, if I am not too late.

  5. melanie says:

    This does sound like an interesting DVD. A novel I read recently sort of opened my eyes to the need to minister to the many who are not so easily {comfortably} reached… as Jesus Himself did. Much food for thought.

  6. Rebekah says:

    Sounds very interesting. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  7. Angie says:

    I would LOVE to see this DVD. If I don’t win the giveaway, I might ask for it for Christmas!

    I have personal experience with believers from the parts of the world you’ve mentioned and I have heard/seen things that have expanded my view of how God works. His ways are above ours and I desire to not live a complacent Christian life, which is so easy in America. Thanks for sharing this review.

Comments are closed.