30 Days of Thanks – Day 7 – 2012

I am thankful that even when God says, “NO” that He is working and has a purpose.

God has said NO to me in 2 things today:  well, NO to many who did not vote for the current President too.  I am a little unnerved by the election outcome and the prospects of the next 4 years … BUT I know GOD’s not worried one bit!

And God through my husband said NO to the job Daniel was offered last Friday.  It was an “ok” job but not the “ideal” job … there were good things … but in the end, the “con’s” won it.  Long commute, shift work, rotating weekend work, uncertain salary, prospect of me working opposite times and never seeing my husband, expenses of dual households for a while, selling a house that isn’t ready for the market, etc etc etc … Daniel just didn’t have that peace that he’d like to have had.

I’m a little bummed as the job was in my HOME STATE of Tennessee!  I would have been 3 hours from my family in East Tennessee instead of 620 miles.  I would have been living by an exciting city, Nashville – and near some sweet, old (as in long-time) friends!!  What a contrast to middle-of-no-where, Missouri!  BUT God said “NO” … and that’s ok.

I’m trusting my husband’s logic instead of my own emotion.  I’m thankful for Daniel because he completes me; he balances me out; he is my calm in the emotional whirlwind I live in.  He’s cautious when I’m ready to take any risk and force my will to make things work my way, which usually ends up being a bust.  I’m thankful also to know my husband did consult me on this – and he would have taken this job, knowing the risks, if only for me.  BUT we are a team, and we make these decisions together – and in this case, I do believe he is right, as much as I wanted him to take this job.

And I’m thankful that our future – in America and in my family’s life; all is all safe in God’s Hands, no matter how bleak it looks from this side.

What are  you thankful for today?  I have Mr. Linky up if you would like to share (hope he’s working!!?):

This entry was posted in thankfulness. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 30 Days of Thanks – Day 7 – 2012

  1. Dackel says:

    I’m thankful for having had my Katie for 6 and a half years. She was a wonderful child. I still, and always will, miss her, but wow, those six years were really great!

  2. Sara H says:

    We will continue to pray for a job.

  3. melanie says:

    We’ll keep praying with you – {{hugs}}

  4. Angie says:

    Thankful for all that you share. God will provide; so thankful your husband was willing to listen and obey!

    Tried the linky again. Looked like it worked, but not showing up on your site. : (

  5. Tina Leigh says:

    I love how you talk about your husband! Danny & I were not like that when we married but we have become that way now…I’m so very thankful for that.

    Your thankfulness will find y’all just the right job!

    Just wait and see!

  6. Mrs. D says:

    I think you should move to NH 🙂 of course a job might be harder to find here.

  7. Renee says:

    Bummer about the job… would have loved to have you in TN so we could meet up sometime

Comments are closed.